I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 14, 2014 - 12:36 p.m.

Mad About First Acoustics

Yesterday I had a musical double header that involved four of my favorite musical acts. First I went to Mad Sq Music to see Miss Tess. The show started at 3:00 but I wanted to be there at 2:30 to make sure I got a good seat, or a seat at all. I cut it close and just missed the and then just missed the . I raced up from 14th Street to 23rd then realized I wasn't late. I was just late to being early. I got there at 2:40 or so. I got a seat down front. Of course to do that I had to grab a seat from the second row and put it in a gap in the first. It's folding chairs. Then I went backstage to talk to Tess and Maggi who runs the series. They weren't there! But they just went off for a minute and when they returned I said hi and had a nice talk with Maggi. The weather was threatening and I told Tess it was her job to keep the rain away. She did not succeed. It was drizzling when she started but then it started to rain harder. I didn't have an umbrella but I had my emergency WfUV poncho. I was was more worried about the copy of Lord of the Rings in my bag. My last copy was ruined when I got caught in th rain. At first I had backpack face down so that the padded back would face the rain under my seat. But when the rain got harder I put on poncho and put the bag under that. it worked, the book stayed dry as a bone

It wasn't the best circumstances but it wasn't the first time I've heard music that I love in the rain and it won't be the last. I will pretty much always enjoy Tess. I could hear her great and that's what matters. I actually had trouble seeing because I had my baseball cap low on my head to protect my eyes. That's OK I did what I often do, listened with my eyes closed. But of course I looked up to take pictures for you. Of course I took them before the rain got bad.

I'm doing something different today. I have written about why I love ever band I saw many times so I'm not going to make myself come up with something clever again. I am out of clever. OK I'm not I am never out of clever. I'm just trying something new. Actually it's something old. I used to never write about the music. Hey I sat in the rain to hear Tess do you really need to hear more to know that she's great? Suzy Boggus is no slouch but not one of my people and I had enough of the rain and went home. I'm not quite the music fan superman people think I am.

I got home dried off and had chocolate peanut butter for dinner. Then I headed out to First Acoustics for their season opener, a special fundraiser. The all-star bill was Spuyten Duyvil, Joe Crookston, and Pesky J. Nixon. Those three at First Acoustics is not a home game, it's a bedroom game, hell it's a snuggling under my covers game. It's even easy for me to get to First Acoustics, just 20 minutes on the subway. I can't begin to count how many hugs I got, the first was from Coco when I walked in.

Guess who was doing merch. I actually did my job and set things up and found out all the prices Of course mainly I schmoozed. People said some very nice things to me. I'm having a rough time so it's good to feel appreciated.

There was dinner served but I didn't spring for that but I did go down to the dining room to socialize. I sat with Gene and Isabel. Who else was there? Richard and Viki. There were other people I knew but that's who I talked to the most.

I usually sit at the merch table but there was no room to sit there yesterday so I sat with Isabel and Gene. Someone tapped me on the shoulder I turned around and saw it was Paula who was there were Peter. they came down from Hastings. Sure I go up to Westchester all the time but few Westchesterarians trek into Brooklyn.

Then just before the music started we saw Dan and Erin come in. I talked to them during the break.

The one person conspicuously absent was Fred. He was seeing The Eagles. Poor guy.

The show was great. I'm not going to tell you why I love all these bands, you can just search and read me praising them over and over again. But one thing special is that they all played together. Pesky J. Nixon was up first.


Jake and Ethan, Dan is hiding behind Ethan.


Beth joined in


Joe Fiddled

There was a short break then Joe and Peter Glanville came on. Joe knows how to connect with an audience. he started off-stage and off-mic.

As this was the season opener and a fund raiser there was a raffle. As this is a family affair Coco's daughter's helped picked the winners.

They also sang ,Going to the Chapel with Beth.

Coco's enthusiasm is a big part of what makes First Acoustics special. It would be a home game even if she weren't my friend.

Spuyten Duyvil went last but they were soon joined by everybody.

Remember I talked about Coco's enthusiasm? That's her dancing down front. I didn't dance but I full-throated sang. There were so many songs that I love.

After the show I finished up the merch, told everyone goodbye, and got a ride home with Gene and Isabel. As easy as it for me to get to First Acoustics it's harder to get home. the trains run less frequently and they run local. Instead of taking 20 minutes it is more like 45 and can take a hour if I'm unlucky.

I had a great time but I'm still depressed and anxious. I don't want to talk about what's bothering me but I think I can convey how I feel. It's the same feeling I'd get if I were banned from Falcon Ridge. It took me forever to come up with that simple and apt analogy. Coming up with analogies like that is part of the core of who I am. It's what so much of math is about. It's finding two things that are different but have the same internal relationship between the parts. You can say that's what much of physics is. You can understand the world because it acts the same as mathematical equations.

OK. It's late and I have to get going. I'm having another musical doubleheader today. If I keep moving the wheel of fire can't catch up to me. I'm making an omelet for breakfast.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 14, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!