I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 25, 2015 - 12:40 p.m.

Earth Rock in French

I hate when I am start writing so late. I've just been wasting time. It is the anxiety. I worry about what to write till I actually start writing. I rationally observe myself acting irrationally. I value rationality highly. Acting irrationally gives me anxiety. At least I enjoy thinking about the feedback loops.

Now I have pressure. I know there are idiot stories to tell. Can I remember them? I have one but I know there are more. Well I'll just start telling the tale and see what comes to me.

I'll start with the big idiot story. At Clearwater I noticed I had holes worth through the sole of my Tevas. I was upset as I knew I bought a pair just last year. I figured it was all the walking I had been doing. Monday I went online and ordered a new pair on Amazon. Yesterday as I'm getting dressed it hit me. I never threw out the old pair from last year. So remember how I got all upset about how my landlady and moved around all my stuff when I cleaned? That hit me. What if she moved my new sandals? That is what she did. She buried my new ones behind my shoes and boots and put the old ones out front. So those are the ones I grabbed. The pair I bought last year are fine. Ugh. Now I have to return the ones I ordered when they get it. I hate doing that. It's totally irrational, yes that again. I have to ask to borrow somebody's printer to print out the return label and I have to figure out how to affix it to the box. OK I know that's not a big deal. I can use paste or clear tape. I said it was irrational. I'm nuts not stupid. But I am an idiot.

I had a notification that I got mail in my PO Box. I thought it might be the sandals but I ordered three things the same day so I didn't know. I headed up to my Columbus Circle, a trip I've made countless times. Yet somehow I managed to miss my transfer stop, just two stations away, Atlantic Terminal. I was busy reading the Times on my phone. I noticed right after the doors closed. But good thing lots of lines go to Columbus Circle and I think fast. I got off at Nevins Street where I could catch the or on the same platform. All other transfers are a bit awkward. Of course I still then had to transfer to the . Yes there's a lot of commuting this edition of Wise Madness. I didn't get my sandals, I got my new USB to microUSB connector. The one I use to charge my portable charger broke so I couldn't charge that an my phone at the same time. That's pretty much a necessity.

My next stop was shopping, Usually I go to the Trader Joe's in Brooklyn Heights but I needed coffee and wanted to check out Fairway. There's one in Chelsea just 5 blocks from Trader Joe's so I went there. It was a waste. What I wanted was too expensive so I went to Trader Joe's anyway. I got what I needed and headed home. That's three trains. I took the to West Fourth where I can catch either the or . It was a short wait for the . The train was crowded and the arm of a guy holding the pole was right next to my head. When they announced there was another and a right behind I decided to go for one of those. But the door closed before I could leave. I got off the next stop. Now I know most people don't trust it when they say there's a train right behind but usually they are telling the truth. .And in this case there seemed no reason to tell us. It wasn't like he couldn't close the train doors. Everyone was already in. So you know what happened He lied. I waited forever for a . I did get a seat but it was not worth that long a wait, I had plans for the evening. I had to leave no later than 6:30. But I still had plenty of time. I would be back before 6:00 I just missed the at Atlantic but it was only 4 minutes till the next one. So I was doing fine. Then the train just sat in the tunnel. And it sat and it sat and it sat. I got back at 6:35 and had to put away my groceries and go to the bathroom. Ugh. I left at 6:45, I had to be at the Slipper Room at 7:30. I could still make that if I hit the trains right. I did! But it was just on time and that made problems.

I was there to see the Terrific Terre Roche. I actually always think of her as "Terrible Terre" because that's how Suzzy introduced her at a Roches' Christmas Show 22 years ago. As you have figured out I've been listening to Terre a long time, the first was autumn 1988. Last night was the CD release show for her new album, Imprint. Was this really her first album since "The Sound of a Tree Falling" back in 1998? Why is that title not ringing a bell? I know I bought it and I know I went to the release show. I think it was at the old old Living Room on Allen Street, a block from the Slipper Room.

Oh right the Slipper Room. I got there at 7:28. I got my ticket. It's an odd space, a real theater but small. It has a balcony that doesn't overhang goes around the edges of the main space like a miniature Metropolitan Opera House. The orchestra was filled I had to go upstairs. The balcony was almost filled. I found on spot that was on the side near the front. It was close but I had to lean forward to see over the railing. Not the most comfortable spot but it would do.

Terre is very much not generic. Her music has a reflective peaceful air. Imagine being in Shangri-la; that's the feeling it generates. The music and her singing are in harmony with the universe. When she talks she's funny and silly. I like funny and silly.

I could have stayed for the next show but didn't, it's burlesque. Terre is an odd lead in to that. The incoming audience did not look like the outgoing one.

I hadn't eaten so I headed home. This ride home was easier than the one earlier. I made nothing succeeds like excess chicken. I just names that. I made thighs with jerk seasoning then put barbecue sauce on it. It was great. I made my new easy potatoes, I got an heirloom variety and the sign on them said "good for boiling in the skin." So that's what I did. Then I added some olive oil and garlic salt. It's very good.

Now I'm hungry so better make brunch. I'm seeing Lucinda Williams tonight so I'll have more to write about tomorrow.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 25, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!