I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 17, 2014 - 12:25 p.m.

Poutine on the Ritz

Yesterday I knew exactly what I was going to write today. I should have learned by now to write these things down. Well I know two things I want to write. One light-hearted one not.

What did I do yesterday, not much. I didn't get dressed and pass the kitchen till 6:30 PM. While that can be a good thing yesterday it wasn't. It was about paralysis not taking a day off. The one good thing was getting myself to call a friend and talk. As I've been saying conversations are few and far between for me.

When I did leave it was to go to Trader Joe's. Jake mentioned that they had frozen poutine. There was a discussion on Facebook and I somehow volunteered to be the guinea pig and try it out. I guess I should explain what poutine is for those unfortunates who have not tried it.

Poutine (/puːˈtiːn/; French: [putin], Quebec French:[put͡sɪn] ( listen)) is a common Canadian dish, originally from Quebec, made with french fries, topped with a light brown gravy-like sauce and cheese curds.
Yes it sounds gross. It looks grocer. It is wonderful. But I had issues with it being frozen. I would much rather make my own fries and just have packages of curds and gravy. But I said I would try it so I did. I realize now that I should have taken pictures. First off I think I overheated the curds. The instructions said to defrost the gravy and curds by putting the packs in a low simmering pan of water. Then it said make the fries. I thought that meant to keep it in the water for the 20 minutes the fries were in the oven. Seeing that it made the curds congeal into a mass that was wrong. The fries were frozen fries, never as good as fresh. The result was OK. It was not like getting fresh poutine but the taste combination still worked. I don't think it's worth the effort or money. I won't get it again. It also is too much for one person. I have leftovers that I'm going to eat with my breakfast today. I'll let you know how it is reheated. Tonight I'm making soup and I am tempted to just throw it in the that. But it already had potatoes in it. I'll see. I might still go that way.

I crossed the Rubicon and bought vegetable broth at Trader Joe's. tonight I am finishing off the chicken but next time I make soup it will be with the vegetable. I don't like vegetables. I'm trying to eat healthier, just this from the man that just ate poutine. But still I put so much tasty things into the soup that I think the vegetable taste will be overwhelmed by the red pepper, garlic, and sausage.

After dinner I watched The Civil War part 5: The Universe of Battle 1863.. That includes the Gettysburg. Can anyone watch that and not be moved? What Burns does is show both the horrors of war and the heights that people can rise in response to those horrors. It ends with the Gettysburg address. I listen or even read that and I'm transformed back into an 8-year-old boy untainted by the Vietnam War. It makes me feel good about the country and humanity. We don't always or perhaps often live up to our ideals but we have them. We have a vision of how we are supposed to live.

I just watched it again and once again there are tears in my eyes. There is a place for cynicism but there is a place for this too. You can dissect and find fault with anything and anyone but that shouldn't let you lose sight of greatness. With just 269 words Lincoln changed the world.

To give you some perspective on the battle itself. During the 10 year war in Iraq 4487 Americans died, not all in combat. In the three days at Gettysburg the Union lost 3,155 and the Confederacy 4,706 men. There were 46,286 combined casualties. out of the 165,620 soldiers fighting.

Now to get more personal. I had a falling out with a friend, an exceptionally dear friend. I don't have many people I'm that close to and there's nothing I value as much. I don't want to give any real details. I just gave up even with my metaphor. In fact I'm giving up writing more. So I'll finesse the situation and write of love and friendship. I said I might do that for Valentine's Day So I'm three days late. You know I procrastinate.

I didn't have a Valentine. I have never had a Valentine. The clich� in that situation is to hate Valentine' Day and decry it as a creation of Hallmark and florists Not me. So what if it was created to sell flowers, cards, and chocolate. Having a special day to honor the one you love is a great idea. If I had a Valentine I'd want her to feel like the luckiest woman on earth because I'd feel like the luckiest man.

Love at first sight is silly. Love is not about the way somebody looks or at least not solely about how somebody looks. But love at first meeting is another thing. I have known that almost all the most important people in my life were special from the first time we spent any time together alone. It doesn't take much time either. It frequently happened traveling, It can be a car trip or even a subway ride. One person it was a phone call. We met casually, I gave her a call, and we talked for three hours. You don't talk to three hours to someone you hardly know without a special connection. The only close friend that I can think of where the friendship developed over time is LORi. And that's probably because we'd see each other at Moxy Fr�vous concerts with a million other people we knew better around and didn't have that time alone to connect. Oh and there was the little matter that she thought I was friends with creepiest Fr�head of them all. I wasn't. He was about my age, early forties, and had a thing for young women, often teenage girls. He unfortunately liked to talk to me and I wasn't always skilled enough at avoiding him. I've gotten better at that. But that's not my point. My point is the calculator. That's an obligatory Fr�vous reference. But my point is that LORi is the exception. Most people I connect with I connect with immediately. I'm curious have you found the same thing?

OK now I'm going to have breakfast, poached egg and poutine. I'm going to try and put the eggs right in the poutine! I'll let you know how that goes. This could be involve a stomach pump.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 17, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!