I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 12, 2013 - 4:43 p.m.

The Adventure of the Thrilling Adventure Hour or Hovendile is an Idiot

I think I'm awake enough to write now but I did get around to grading today. That means in-subway grading in my future.

I over the last couple of days I have spent 25 hours with Lena who came up for an all to brief visit. Our time was a bit constrained. she got here around noon. The purpose was the same as her last one, to see The Thrilling Adventure Hour. That's what they call a recreation of an old-time radio show but is more of a spoof of the making of an old-time radio show. The show was at Bell House in Brooklyn and she wanted to be there at 6:30 for the 7:30 show. As I don't have my own place we got a hotel room, (get your mind out of the gutter) in Sunset Park, two subway stops away. There was not time to go to the hotel then go back to the City and play then back to Brooklyn and she didn't want to carry her backpack all day in the City. So we went to Roio's Pizza, the best in the City for lunch. That wasn't too far and we walked. If you are in New York a short time, Real Pizza should be part of your itinerary. We then went to the Day's Inn where she showered and we rested up a bit. Then I thought of going up to Fort Greene and showing her my old neighborhood and eating at Habana Outpost, my favorite restaurant in the area. On the way I attempted to show her Greenwood Cemetery but there was no entrance on the direct route and we didn't want to walk all around it. Oddly enough the director of the tweeted pictures of it. It is one of the major sites to see in the area.

When we got out of the subway the sky was ominous. I had an umbrella but Lena didn't. We went into Atlantic Center to get one and found a fun one for her. Just as we got to the exit the sky opened up and it didn't rained, it poured. There were torrents of water coming down and high winds that would eat an umbrella and still be hungry for more. We waited it out. When it slowed to a drizzle we left. I was going to show her my old house but it started to rain harder, and harder, and well harder. I started walking to the restaurant as soon as the rain worsened. We were catty corner to it when it turned back into a torrent. We went quickly but still got wet. The wind was not as bad and our umbrellas survived. It was really too early to eat but we were there so we did. The Cuban sandwiches were great but we couldn't finish them.

It stopped raining then but both our feet were bothering us and we headed down to the show. We thought we'd be the first ones online but we weren't. Lena's friends Simcha and Colomme (sp?) were already there as were about a dozen others. we joined them. After a bit they let us inside to line up and check in. They have a strange system. You go to the box office with your ticket, they take it, and stamp you hand then you go back on the line. This is well before the doors open. When we went up with our tickets the scanner made an unhappy sound.. Our tickets were for the late show. I posted on Facebook that I was an idiot. I bought the tickets in early January and even though we decided on the early show I got tickets for the late one. I am convinced there was a computer glitch and I'm only an idiot for not noticing it. Yes that's it. It couldn't be me. In fact we met someone else who claimed the same thing happened to her. See, that's it. I'm not grasping at straws.

We decided to just wait on a couch at Bell House. As soon as the crowd was let in we lined up for the late show. Nobody lined up for another hour and a half. We were the first one on the line. That proved pointless as they let people who were there for both shows to stay in the room so we ended up just joining Simcha and Colomme. They were top seats in the first row.

Lena learned about the show because she's a fan of Paget Brewster from Criminal Minds. Then purely coincidentally Paul and Storm got involved. This time Jonathan Coulton was in it. Last time he was in the audience. The only other one I knew, though not personally,, was John Hodgman. He goes on the JoCo cruises that Lena goes on.

It's an odd situation for me as almost everyone else there is part of a devoted organized fandom. The show is best known through pod casts, so it isn't just the live shows. I am not much of a pod cast listener even for things I love like Radio Lab. This I like but but don't love. It just misses my personal mark. I did like this one more than the first. It didn�t try as hard and there was more ad libbing. Still it was a lot of fun though a late night.

After the show we went over to say hi to Storm, JoCo, and Paul. I asked Jonathan that since he went from being in the audience to being in the show if Lena and I were going to be in it next time. He said "yes!" So next time you'll have to go as it will be the best thing ever. I was very proud of myself because I remembered to say hi to Paul and Storm for Carey.

We then went over to say hi to Paget who seemed to remember us from last time though I find that hard to believe. Maybe she likes the picture Lena posted that I took of them. It was good. I took another this time. Notice how I grab all the credit for myself?

We went straight back to the hotel after that. 90% of the travel time was waiting for the train. This morning was more relaxed. We went for brunch at Petite Abeille in Greenwich Village. It's amazing. We split a ham benedict (eggs benedict with ham), a liege waffle, and Pofferties, mini Flemish pancakes that are to die for. They are as light as air but filled with flavor. The coffee was great too. I always tell myself that I need to eat their more often. I have friends that don't live that far from it. We should go there.

Then we walked up to Penn Station. Today the weather was glorious. It was a great Sunday.

Now I'm ready to go out again to see Kath at Rockwood. I'll bring tests and grade them on the train.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 12, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!