I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 08, 2018 - 10:24 a.m.

Not Heidi, But Close

This might be a brief edition of Wise Madness; I am not feeling inspired to write about anything in my ideas bin and I didn't do anything interesting yesterday. There is only one thing I know I was write about; if anything, else finds its way into here I don't see it yet.

I went shopping yesterday, we were out of cat food which was enough to motivate a trip to Stop & Shop. Once there I bought a lot more. I am now a person who buys a box of 24 cans of cat food. I hope the cats appreciate it. Smoke is the trouble maker, but he is the one that pays more attention to me. When I walk down the stairs I usually find him waiting at the bottom looking at me. Sometimes he's on one of the landings. Those are not his favorite spots, he runs over there when he hears me coming. Why? I don't feed him when I come down and I don't pet him. I'd love to pet the cats but I'm afraid of my allergies. Most days I stop and talk to him when I reach him. Sometimes we use cat talk.

"Meow"
"Meow meow."
"Meoooow.."
Scintillating conversation. I do an excellent meow.

Sometimes I speak English.

"Good morning smoke?"
[stares at me]
"Why do you sit there and look at me every morning?"
[stares at me]
I saw a meme that said you know you're in introvert if you talk to your pets like they were people. Doesn't everyone do that? I did it with my dog. I didn't it with my friends' dogs. I've had many a conversation with Leah's macaw. It seems rude to be in a room with them and say nothing.

The most important thing I bought was hot chocolate. The best inexpensive hot chocolate I've found is the Land O' Lakes. The Stop & Shop didn't have any. They had a narrow selection, mainly Swiss Miss. It was on sale, two boxes for $3, that was good. It's hot and it's chocolate so acceptable. Then I spotted something new to me.

As you can see from the box unlike regular Swiss Miss you have to add hot milk, not water. It's also more expensive, eight servings per box instead of 10, but for the same price. I have found these small upgrades are usually worthwhile. I bought one box of dark chocolate and one of milk chocolate. Last night I tried the dark. It's not the No Chewing Allowed hot chocolate, it's not a cup of orgasm, but it is far better than ordinary Swiss Miss. I suspect I'm going to be unhappy that I bought the milk chocolate, the dark is so good. I enhanced the experience with mini-marshmallows. I have a new staple.

I love writing about things that I love, whether it's music, food, art, or the Staten Island Ferry. I often wonder if I appreciate these things more than most people or I more likely to express it. It takes an effort for me to not gush.

I woke up early today, a little before seven. I didn't fight it and go back to bed. Thanks to that I'm going to post this before 10 AM. It also allowed me to take this picture.

I used to often take photos of the sun rising over Long Island Sound and Hart Island. I should never let myself get jaded. It is no less a wonder for being common. We should try and look at all things of beauty as if it were the first time.

Another advantage of waking early is eating early. I'm not sure what I'm eating but it will be eggs, and it will be served on garlic Texas toast. Whoops, I forgot to post this. It's still before 10 so I don't have to change anything. I wrote that, hit spell check, and fell asleep for half an hour. Now to post for real.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 08, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!