I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 18, 2016 - 4:27 p.m.

Insert Something Mean and Clever About Dan

Sorry it's been so long since I updated. I got home too late last night and slept too late this morning. I'm meeting Jim and Alice for lunch at noon so won't finish this till I'm finished with that. For me it will be breakfast. How many zillion things have I done since I last wrote? OK not that much. I just caught my brain up. Maybe I'll even finish this before I have to leave. Yeah right, the days of writing in half an hour are long gone.

I got a new therapist yesterday. I haven't been in one-on-one therapy is ages. I have a therapist in my program but she mainly functioned as a social worker for me. The new one is going to be just therapy. I like her quite a bit. Her name is Allison. My last therapist was named Susan. The names of my sisters are Alison and Susan. Allison and I spent some time discussing the spelling of her name. She brought it up but I told her that was the first thing I looked at when I was assigned to her. I have a lot of Allisons/Alisons in my life, the Allisoni.

I got out a little late so I missed my bus and had to walk to the train station. It was a beautiful day so I didn't mind at all. What I did mind is that I arrived as the train was pulling out of the station so I had to catch the next one. I made the best of the time by going to Carvel; they have new Ghiridelli's dark chocolate ice cream. I had a cone.

Guess what it's about four hours since I wrote that last sentence. OK I'm back from lunch and then wasting time on the computer. Now back to yesterday.

When I got on the train I took it all the way down to Grand Central Station. My plan was to do the Sunset Singing Circle with Terre Roche after having dinner with Dan. My timing was pretty good. I got to Bowling Green about 20 minutes before Dan got out of work. I sat in the park and waited for him. That is going to be our official meeting him after work place, it's right where he works and comfortable for me to wait there.

After dinner we went to Wagner Park where the song circle is. We had a lot of time and sat there talking. I wanted to be in the shade and Dan wanted to sit in the sun and get cancer so we sat on the edge of the shade. At one point I said to Dan, "I give you such a hard time, why are you friends with me?" He denied that I'm difficult, he said I was sassy. Can a man be sassy? Have you ever heard of a man described as sassy? If not what word would be used?

I'm mad at myself now, I forgot all the mean things I wanted to say about Dan and use as the title for this. It usually has something to do with his unnatural love of Dawes. Thank god there are no Dawes songs in the circle's songbook.

This was just the second Sunset Singing Circle I could make this year and it's the last till next May. That's sad as they are so much fun. Is there anything better than sitting next to New York Harbor singing? I followed my tradition of making the first request, it as Wild Mountain Thyme. I didn't realize it was Go Lassie Go or I'd have requested it the week before. Dan had to leave early but I stayed till the end. I couldn't figure out why it was so much darker at the end than last week. Then I realized it was because I had my sunglasses on. Have I mentioned that I'm an idiot?

Who is going to join me next May? It's such a great way to spend a Friday evening. It ends at 8:30 so you can even make a late show afterward. I'm expecting to see some of you next time.

I made great connections on the and trains coming home. The miracle of miracles instead of just missing the Bx29 bus I only had to wait six minutes! So of course I lost that time when the Pelham Park drawbridge was up. I just can't win.

Today I had lunch, for me breakfast, with Jim and Alice at City Island Lobster House. I don't eat seafood but there's plenty there that I like. I had the barbecue ribs and chicken lunch. It came with a ton of food, I had hush puppies, sausages, garlic bread, and fried ravioli as appetizers. Then they served what could have been standalone orders of ribs and chicken. I couldn't finish it. That never happens. I took a doggie bag. I never do that but it was too much food to waste and it was all so good. If you are on City Island try them out. Of course what I liked even better was the company, Alice and Jim. The best part is that with Alice there Jim is the one that gets picked on, not me. At one point I said, "It's Father's day so we''ll let Jim get away with doing something stupid." Alice said, "he always does that." My response was, "But you usually won't let him get away with it." It was a nice long lunch. They are regulars there and they are on a first name basis with the staff. That always makes things better. Alice said that if she hadn't married Jim she'd have married me as we are the same person. I was nice and didn't insult her back.

I'm tempted to take it easy and stay home tonight. My other option is going down to Red Hook in Brooklyn to see the Calamity Janes. I love the Calamity Janes but it's going to take me close to two hours each way. I have time to decide.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 18, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!