I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 27, 2014 - 11:41 a.m.

We Are Stardust/Billion Year Old Carbon

I know I wrote a note with what to write about today but I'm going to try and not look use that till I have to. Maybe something else will come to me as I write. I have multiple writing strategies. One I haven't done in a while is stream of consciousness. I left myself a note to do that and to discuss writing strategies. I'm happiest when I know what I'm going to write from the start but when I stay in all day that can be rough

I missed seeing Dar Williams' Boxing Day show for the first time in years. I couldn't afford it. That makes me sad. It's one of my favorite holiday traditions. I get to see one of my favorite performers and I always go with Chris.

I had to distract myself from missing that and watched an movie on Amazon Prime. I checked my watch list and chose Stardust. Katrina had recommended it to me a few months ago. I had never heard of it anywhere else. I told her that if I didn't like the film it was all her fault. I checked it out a bit and saw it was written by Neil Gammon! How did nobody else ever mention this to me? He was trying to write pre-Tolkien British fantasy ala Lord Dunsany. I'm a huge fan of Dunsany. I have obscure tastes. Lin Carter turned me on to Dunsany in his book, Tolkien: A Look Behind the Lord of the Rings. That also turned me onto H.P. Lovecraft, Arthur Machen, and most important of all, James Branch Cabell.

So the film has a good pedigree and the cast is well known, Claire Danes, Michelle Pfeiffer, Robert De Niro, Peter O'Toole, and Ian Mckellen as the voiceover narrator. Yet only Katrina has ever mentioned this to me. I was afraid the film would suck but even if I did I should have heard of I as a film with great talent that sucked. It didn't! It was good! Was I just living in a bubble and everyone else knows it?

Yes occasionally the film held he bird to tight and suffocated it and sometimes too loose and let it free but for the most part it struck the right balance of humor and earnestness. It was very Terry Gilliam but without his darkness. He'd have ruined the ending and made it unhappy. This film knew it was a fairy tale. But it was a modern one. The gay pirate is actually gay. Of course he wasn't actually a pirate. He captured lightning The economics seemed similar to being a whaler, you spend most of your time searching for a high value resource.

But the film works, it's funny and romantic and there is no good reason it's ot better well known, unless of course it is and I'm living in a cave That is always a possibility.

When did Wise Madness become art reviews. I didn't used to do that. Now it's seems to be what I find easiest..

I also finished watching an episode of Ken Burns' Jazz. I knew so many of these musical giants as kids but didn't appreciate them. I first new Ella Fitzgerald in the Abbott and Costello film, Ride 'Em Cowboy. She sang "A Tisket a Taskit" and I thought it was just silly. I had no idea it was a classic. The Abbott and Costello films had a lot of great music. I also had no idea she was only 25 in that. I thought she was middle aged. I should have known she wasn't as I would see her on TV when she really was middle aged. I thought of her and Louis Armstrong as corny. I knew That Duke Ellington was supposed to be great but I thought of him as the guy with the huge eyelids. I watch them now and I'm in total awe. They even showed Ella in Ride 'Em Cowboy and now I can see the genius. Well I am a bit more mature now.

Back to Abbott and Costello for a bit. They'd have Ella or the Andrew Sisters in their movies playing parts, not just singing. Does this happen now? Would major recording artist appear in a comedy vehicle?

Now to make breakfast.

Oh look, i never used my planned idea.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 27, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!