I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 15, 2017 - 10:53 a.m.

Do Androids Dream of Electric Caitlin?

I must write fast. I have therapy today. I'm getting a ride to the train station which gives me an extra 45 minutes but I have to blog, make breakfast, and shower in the next two and a half hours and I can take that long just blogging if I let myself get distracted. I listening to Bach's Harpsichord Works to get me into the right frame of mind.

Brianne invited me to go to a protest rally last night at Washington Square Park. I said yes. Seeing Brianne and protesting the current administration are two of my favorite things to do. Then Dan asked me if I were going to see Caitlin Mahoney. That started at 9 when the rally ended but I didn't have to stay to the end so said yes, invited Dan. So now I was seeing two of my favorite people and doing two of my favorite activities, protesting and hearing live music. The only problem was fitting in dinner. I grabbed slices between the two events. I love it when a plan comes together.

Thank god for cell phones; make that thank Martin Cooper and Motorola. We made no plans on how to meet and we all planned on getting there an hour after it started so there would be a big crowd. I got there first and texted Brianne and Dan and told them where I was. To make it easier, there was a guy with a big flag near me and I told them to look for that and even took pictures of it. Cell phones can be annoying and that's what people notice but they improve the quality of life.

They did both find me, Brianne, then Dan. I introduced them though they had met at The Budgiedome. It was years ago, and people don't sleep there so they didn't remember each other. Brianne brought a friend, a friend with a name. Nope, it's gone. Brianne went off to be a photojournalist. She's chronicling the resistance while taking part in the resistance. She and her friends have founded Artists in Resistance; "Our goal is to educate and organize the community through political art. This is so their voices will be heard on political matters important to them." Go like their page now; I can wait. Go to the about section and follow them on twitter and Instagram. It just came to me; Brianne's friends name was Daniella. That's a lie. I found out on the about section.

You back? Did you sign up for the resistance? Good. This was the first protest that didn't connect with me. We didn't march, we didn't chant, we listened to speakers and some musicians. The lowlight was "the rant box." They asked someone from the crowd to come up and rant. This was not a good idea. People unprepared to speak in public are rarely good at speaking in public. His rant was something along these lines. The words are not exactly right but this is in no way an exaggeration. The expletive not deleted phrase is exact. I only use obscenities in quotes.

We have to all come together and love. We have to love everyone. Not hate but love. And those that don't feel this way can go fuck themselves. I hate them.
This was not done with self-awareness. This was not a joke. Nobody laughed. Sadly, some people cheered. It could be the definition of hypocrisy. Tom Lehrer did use it as a joke in the intro to one of his songs. Here it is.

The highlight was Judy Gold, she was funny while being on point. She made you laugh and think. There was another comedian but she did not try to be funny. The music was eh. Dan and I spent a lot of time walking around the park. I said my goodbye to Brianne and we headed over to Rockwood Music Hall. I thought we might have to take the subway one stop but we left more than enough time for the walk and pizza.

The walk was good as we got to talk. Brianne and Dan are the two people I talk to the most often and their combined age is less than mine. Dan has some strange notions. He doesn't want a harem. At least he wants a bagel. That was purely for Carey and people that have been reading Wise Madness from near the beginning. We really did have that discussion. It was prompted because he didn't get it when I discussed some women I am planning on marrying. I know you all do. Carey says she never met anyone that didn't want a harem so Dan is an outlier.

I rarely mention Rosario's pizza by name. I should. It's on the corner of Orchard St and Stanton St, down the block from Rockwood 3. It's my go to pizza place in the area.

We got to Rockwood right before Caitlin walked in. We were lucky, the place was packed but as I went to put my coat on a hook some people left and I grabbed their seats. I don't mind standing but I don't like standing in crowds. I find the same thing on the subway. I hate it when it's packed and there is a seat open that I can't get to and nobody sits in it. People should sit as a service to others; it makes it less crowded.

This was Caitlin's Valentine's Day show. Yes, it was Valentine's Day and I hadn't mentioned it till now. You know what that means? Dan was my Valentine's Day date. When Caitlin asked if anyone was there with their valentine I almost raised my hand. Every "date" I go on is with a man, a gay woman, or a married woman. That does not speak well for my love life.

Caitlin played with a band and went electric! Early on someone else played electric guitar but then they switched and Caitlin played it. I expected Pete Seeger to come out with an axe. This was a good sound for her. She rocked out on many songs. There was a drummer. There were still the beautiful harmonies she has always had when she wasn't solo. There were still beautiful melodic songs. My favorite was a groove song. When I think groove, I think Velvet Underground/Lou Reed. This was nothing like Velvet Underground/Lou Reed. But there was an undeniable groove.

After the show both Dan and I had to run. I have a long trip. I didn't make the last bus to City Island. I made the second to last bus! Put it in the win column.

Now to make breakfast. I have only one egg so I'll make grits ala Horvendile with one less egg and more cheese and butter. Remind me to buy eggs on the way home from therapy. If I forget it's your fault.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 15, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!