I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 22, 2013 - 3:11 p.m.

Spuyten Karyn or Y's Madness

I missed a day updating. Did you miss me? Did you call the missing persons bureau? Did you send out a search party? I was busy all day yesterday at wfuv. It took me a long time to get home and I had to be up at 4 this morning so I went to sleep not that long after I got home.

So now let's go back in time to those distant days of yore, Saturday. After finishing my blog I hopped on the subway and raced over to First Acoustics to help set up for Sputyen Duyvil with Karyn Oliver. Guess who was merching? The rule is you can't play First Acoustics if you aren't my friend. At least that's what people think and I'm not going to disabuse them of the notion. Remember I'm friends with anyone that gives me chocolate.

When I asked Dan Bern, "How could a lifelong Giants fan start rooting for the Dodgers? I thought you had integrity" he responded. "I never had integrity." Dan is my hero and role model.

I was joined at the show by Fred and Katherine. Fred became the official videographer. Instead of my usual seat up front Katherine and I sat in the back on a side bench. Who I sit with is always more important than where I sit.

You expect me to write about the music don't you? I see you looking at me with expectations. Well fine I will. I'd really rather be writing about my physical ailments but you got to please the paying customers ... even when they don't pay.

Karyn is a Chick with Dip. I knew her before she had the dip. I can't say before she was a chick because I'm pretty darn sure she was always a chick. If not get the name of her surgeon, he's a good one.

The lady got pipes. I'd listen to her sing the phone book. Do they still make phone books? I'd listen to her sing a Justin Bieber composition. That's an even stronger statement. She has not played the Budgiedome but she will this summer. That is of course the ultimate seal of approval. I'm thinking of making an actual seal. Forget Kerrville New Folk, playing the Budgiedome is the highest honor in folk.

She had an interesting choice of covers, A Case of You and Hallelujah. I joked and said she only covers Canadians. More interestingly A Case of You is about Leonard Cohen. At least that's what I've been told. Is that right Carey? She's the definitive expert.

I really am pretty much out of thingx to say about Spuyten Duyvil. I you know I love them. They know I love them. The anyone who has heard them knows that they are a seven pack of fun. There are a many ways to make great music and they are the epitome of one of them. Not sure what to call it; roof raising, foot tapping, raucous acoustic joy is a bit long-winded.

Karyn joined them on one song. It was fun to see Karyn and Beth's hair together on stage, a curly blond extravaganza. Honor Finnegan should join them as a trio.

In the midst of all this wonderfulness I had an attack of anxiety. Katherine helped quite a bit. Charlie Brown was right; sometimes you just need someone to say "Poor Sweet Baby."

After the show I closed out the merch and helped pack up. I didn't get to bed till something like 2 AM and was up at 6. And I was still late for the 8 AM shift at wfuv. I took the subway twice on Saturday and both times I forgot that the Q train was running express in Brooklyn so I had to walk to the next express stop. Know why? I'm an idiot. Hint, that's often the answer to question about why I do things.

If I don't want to be an idiot and be late to meeting Emilie I better go now. I canceled my therapy to get an extra half an hour with her. I don't want to blow that writing here.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 22, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!