I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 03, 2017 - 9:58 p.m.

A Volunteer Army Travels on Its Stomach

OK time to write another quick edition of Wise Madness; this will be less ominous than the last. I didn't want to push myself too had so I didn't get to WFUV till 8 AM. That meant getting up at 6:30. It takes half an hour to get there early in the morning but an hour at rush hour. Tomorrow I'm going to try and get there at exactly 6:00, not 5:30 like I did the first day of the drive. That should be fine. Part of me feels guilty. Part of me wants to wake up before my alarm so I can make the earlier bus. More of me wants to get as close to eight hours of sleep as possible.

I volunteered today from 8:00 until 4:00, just a normal 8-hour work day. I didn't even bother wearing my slippers; I kept my sneakers on all day. I think I spent most of my day eating. I had a sausage egg and cheese wrap and a ham, egg, and cheese wrap for breakfast. I had two buffalo chicken and jack cheese sandwiches for lunch. I had two slices of cold pizza for dinner. I had 32 ounces of coffee, god knows how many chips. Mike made incredible chocolate mousse. I was disappointed there wasn't the usual pairing with squirrel. Don't worry, you'll get it. That's the groan I was waiting for. I was on today. At least I liked my jokes. Laura, Dale, Gayle, and Nick liked them too.

They give CDs to the volunteers. Of late there has not been much that I like. This drive there was tons. So far this is what I picked up.

Duffy – Rockferry
Aoife O'Donovan – The Magic Hour
Live at the World Café volume 23: Prime Numbers with tracks by Corinne Bailey Rae, Neko Case, Fiona Apple, Belle & Sebastian, Grace Potter, James Hunter, Josh Ritter, and others.
Brandi Carlile – The Firewatcher's Daughter
Paul Simon – Stranger to Stranger
The Essential Bruce Springsteen

Corinne Bailey Rae – The Heart Speaks in Whispers

Let's see how well you know me; which am I most excited about? You'll find the answer further down.

On Friday when I had to go into the City anyway, I took the Ram Van at 4:30 so I could get to my PO Box before 5:30 when the post office closes. I got there at 5:40. So today I made a special trip and took the 4:00 Ram Van. I got there at 4:35. Isn't that the way of the world? That did let me get home early so I could write this. I am going to wake up 8 hours from now so I should finish this up. I'll just cover one of the two Facebook posts from others that I wanted to write about.

I wrote it up and decided to not publish it. So, this is very short. Now I have to get to sleep. Tomorrow I'm doing a 12-hour-day at the station. At least I don't have to do any cooking this week. It's only an hour later than I wanted to get to sleep.

Almost forgot. The CD I'm most excited about is Aoife O'Donovan. you should have known it.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 03, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!