I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 11, 2014 - 12:40 p.m.

The Voice of the Turtle

A little late but time to start writing. Did I do anything worth writing about during the day yesterday? I think no. Yes breakfast. I told you I was making matzoh brei. I unwittingly performed a culinary experiment. When I make it I usually make Jews cringe by cooking it in bacon fat. Sometimes I use butter, and sometimes ghee. Yesterday I totally zoned and treated it like an omelet. I didn't mean to, I just forgot what I was doing. I just used cooking spray so it wasn't fried at all but grilled. Know what? It was pretty good. The main problem was that it lacked cohesion. I had trouble flipping it. I still made Jews cringe as I diced Taylor ham and mixed it right in. I usually do that. Know why I'm not going to hell? It doesn't exist.

There were lots of good shows I could have gone to last night but I knew which one I was going to see, SONiA's annual show at the The People's Voice Caf�. I think I've been following SONiA since 1991. She's pretty much family.

The show was at a place that should be easy to get to, 35th Street between Park and Madison. Under normal conditions I could take the to 42nd street and walk down or switch ot the which takes me right to 33rd Street. But that's normal circumstances. All the trains to my station are not running. What I could have done is take the shuttle bus to the to the and walked down from 42nd but if I'm changing trains and walking it was easier to take the to the and walk over from 6th Avenue. So instead of the trip taking about 40 minutes it took an hour and a half. That's because I just missed the and waited 20 minutes for the next one. The upshot was I got to the venue 15 minutes late. Sonia had already started. But that did mean I got to enjoy her acknowledging my entrance with a nod and smile as she sang. I was able to get a seat in the front row. That was lucky.

A common link it both people and music I love is making my mind race. Sonia puts iti n overdrive. My brain was running in 5 directions at once. I missed it but on the first song she picked up the wrong harmonica. I wasn't sure if she was playing in E and the harmonica was in G or visa versa. If it was that way her harmonica would be a minor third above the right key which might come out interesting and avant garde, not wrong. But it was the other way which is probably unfortunate but as I didn't hear it I'm not sure.

Sonia is one of the few musicians that can be very political and not make me want to throw things at her. Most are so heavy-handed and essentially give a leftist version of the Fox News distortion of facts Sonia knows how to subtle. She lures you in with fun songs that don't paint the other side as evil caricatures. I finally recorded a song I've posted other versions of here before that demonstrates this wonderfully.

Know what this song is? It's patriotic. It makes me think of something the director of Fermilab said when asked by a member of congress what it did for American defense. He said, "Nothing except being one of the things that makes it worth defending." It's so much more effective than saying. "Look at all those jerks that disagree with us!" You hear this and you want to be on Sonia's side. Gay rights aren't a challenge to traditional values, they are traditional values.

Some more mind racing. As part of some offhand humor Sonia said, "The three corporations that fun the world." I knew too many people that obsess of things like that and turned it into a rant. She just moved it on but it got my mind off on a tangent. Three corporations don't run the world. I couldn't even think of a start of which companies they would be other than Exxon-Mobil. And that's probably because I was a stockholder from the time I was born till I sold them as an adult. But then I figured out who does run the world, � nobody. The world is far to big and complex for anybody to run it. Everything has unintended consequences. Little things can spiral out of control. And nature doesn't take orders from. No one can command the world anymore than King Canute could command the tide.

I'm back from my tangent. When I came back I said, "I have to remember to write that in my blog. The miracle is that I did.

Sonia is so accessible. There was a little girl sitting on the floor in front of the first row. There's a video on Youtube of her, her mother, and sister singing Sonia's Turtle Flowers. Sonia had her come up and join her on the song.

Who else does things like that?

During the intermission I got up and talked to Terry, SONiA's wife and manager and Nancy who is also on Team Sonia. No idea what her title is but she helps keep things running. I just realized that Erica wasn't there. I can't remember the last time I saw SONiA and didn't see Erica. So have you picked up on my rule of capitalizing Sonia's name? When it's the act I write the stylized SONiA when I'm talking about the person it's Sonia. Don't hold me to that. A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds.

Look a bunny! Sorry to get distracted. I also got to say hi to Sonia. I got lucky and ran into her in the back away from the crowd. That way I don't feel like I'm keeping the person standing next to me from talking to her

I knew I wanted to video another song and for it to be a rocker. So I waited for her to pick up her electric George Jetson guitar.

I didn't know what she would play. It's one of my favs.

I had to ask SONiA the title. I'm terrible with titles. To me, "Me Too" is "Everybody's Got a War." And "Moment of Glory" the girl with the motorcycle song. Now you might say, "Isn't that another gay rights song?" No it isn't any more than Maybeline is a straight rights song. It's a classic rock song about girls and cars (motorcycles count) and personal freedom.

After the show I said my goodbyes to Sonia, Nancy, and Terry. Talking to the three of them is always part of the experience for me. It's one of the times I don't feel I'm on the outside looking in.

I hadn't eaten before the show and I ended up eating at Nathan's in Penn Station. And once I was there I just took the all the way to Franklin where I got on the shuttle bus. That wasn't so bad.

Yesterday was the first day warm enough that I wanted to wear a t-shirt. I went to my collection and had to choose this one.


That is from the very first SMAF and of course was on Mother's Day Weekend. I pretty much had no choice in wardrobe.

That first SMAF was one of the best times of my life. If you've been looking at my blogs that I post from 5 and 10 years ago you'll have noticed that they were all great. But that very first was extra special because I was with the person I loved most in the world and she loved me back, platonically but whole-heartedly. There have been few periods in my life like that but somehow in my head that's the norm. When I say that I'm lonely that's what it comes down to. I don�t' have that.

OK today I have to get school work done. I should probably shop too. I usually do on Sundays.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 11, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!