I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 09, 2014 - 12:22 p.m.

Oh Kay

I expected to sleep late today as I went to bed late and we set the clocks ahead but I was still up before 9:00. Actually I got up when I usually do on Sundays right before John Platt's Sunday Breakfast but because of DST it was an hour into the show.

I have been hearing music every night of late so why change things a winning hand? Last night I went to Kathryn's House concerts to see Ed Snodderly. I had never heard Ed Snodderly, I have never heard more of him than his name and that's just because it sounds like a Martin Short character. So why did I go? Because I trust Kay's taste and I always feel so welcome when I go to her place. Kay is Kathryn but I decided that as I know so many Katherines/Catherines that I should make it easier for My Gentle Readers by using alternatives when possible. After I said I was going Kay announced that David Massengill would be opening! I've known David as a fan for over 20 years and as a friend over 10.

Kay lives in the East Village and the one downside is that it always feels like it's harder to get there than it is. I could do it with two trains but It's faster to take three. After the train there's a 0.6 mile walk. Now I love walking. I routinely walk further than that but the fact that I have to walk it is what makes it seem far. According to Google Maps it take 11 minutes.

OK I talked about commuting so now I just have to discuss food and I'll be through the obligatory topics.

I got there a few minutes before doors but went right up. I wasn't the first one, I was the fourth. Kathryn reserved me a seat up front but then thought I might prefer to sit here.

I will often give up a seat up front for a comfy chair but this was even better. I could pretty much lie down. I could not resist. I should have had someone take a picture of me.

Kay always has the best food. There was this amazing sausage and the best salami I have ever eaten. That was worth the trip right there.

Who did I know there? Paul, Karen, and Su. Is that it? No there is Ingrid but I had forgotten than I know her till I asked her, her name. It was odd, as soon as she said her name it clicked with the face. Neither would have done a thing on it's own. I love how memory works. I just wish mine worked better. The conversation with the food was worth the trip. I talked to my friends and to new people. Karen what was the name of your friend? Barbara? There was a lot of movie talk. We discussed The Front and the Hollywood Black List. I could bring up Phantom of Paradise and Paul and David not only knew it but loved it. These are my people! Yes writing great songs does not impress me as much as appreciating Paul Williams as a modern day Faust.

Now on to the show. David did four of my favorite songs, My Friend Joe, I Was a Rider on an Orphan Train, Mouse, and, On the Road to Fairfax Country. Do not ask me how I remember that. As I said, memory is a mystery. Orphan Train is the saddest song ever written and Mouse the sweetest. David has range.


David Massengill

As I said Ed was totally new to me. He comes from same part of Tennessee as David and tells stories like David does between songs. You might have seen him in "O Brother Where Art Thou?" He played the idiot fiddler. Did I get that right? Last night he didn't play the fiddle but guitar, dobro, and banjo. The man can play. For most solo folkies the instrument is either something to stop the voice from getting lonely or an exercise in self indulgence that the performer enjoys and the audience endures. I'd gladly listen to an instrumental by Ed. How would I describe the songs? Bouncy? That works. He does not sing dirges. He doesn't confuse depression with depth. They aren't fluff. There's often a dark side to the lyrics. But it has a good beat, you can dance to it. And I am not kidding about that, your feet want to move.

After the show I was going to make a quick getaway. Come on stop laughing. I wasn't the very last person to leave. Paul was still there and a few others. I can't help if it I liked the people there.

On the way home I stopped at Pathmark to get eggs for today's breakfast. I checked to see when the train was coming. The sign said 13 minutes. Just time to run there, get the eggs, and return. But when I got there the self-checkout was closed and there was a long line for the one cashier so I left without getting eggs. There is only one egg in the house. Now I have to decide if I'm going to make a peanut butter and bacon sandwich or pancakes. I think I'm going for the former. I haven't had either in ages. I hate when I have to go to Trader Joe's on a weekend. The lines are so much longer then. But I have to so I can have breakfast tomorrow.

Oh two more things. You'll notice that I didn't give a website for Ed. That's because edsnodderlymusic.com has been taken by claim jumpers. When I looked at his facebook it listed this as his website. thediamondstream. The script on the top is Tengwar the Elven script for Tolkien. On the bottom it's Cirth, Elven runes. I am so mad I can't identify the bulk of the writing. It looks so familiar.

Here's the slideshow.

Now I'm really going.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 09, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!