I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 18, 2014 - 12:05 p.m.

Shopping Cart of Love

I didn't do much worth writing about yesterday. I did buy a cast iron skillet, there was a great sale at Macy's. I have to make sure that when I leave it on the stove after I cook that nobody tries to wash it with soap. I told the landlady to tell everyone else to not touch it and that if they do they have to buy me a new one.

Ugh we have a new internet hog here and he or she comes online as I'm writing this.

OK I just thought of one of the things on my back burner that I keep telling myself I'll write about the next slow day and then never get around to writing about. And I just deleted everything I wrote about it. It wasn't working. I don't want to write something personal today. Looking back at my old entries I see how often I discuss being depressed or anxious. Yes that's a big part of being me but it's not the parts that I like about myself. I always think of them as something stuck to the real me, not actually me.

So I'm going to write about something else. I could write about religion. A day doesn't go by that I don't read about religion causing problems. My latest is how Israel has an extremely low rate of organ donation because some long dead rabbis said that a person is dead when they stop breathing. I could go on about that but I don't have to.

OK let's go back to shopping. I love shopping for cooking gear. I have to look at every single skillet looking for just the right one. I love looking at gadgets. If I could afford it I'd buy all sorts of things to make cooking easier and better. When did this happen? I don't know but it's true. It's not as good as a bookstore but it's not that far behind a toy store. I don't go to record stores anymore. Now I buy almost everything at shows or online. That's a huge change. In the mid nineties I used to go to the used record stores in the East Village every week to see what had come in. I would never go out without a 99� CD. I filled my entire Moxy Fr�vous back catalogue with used CDs.

What else do I like shopping for? I used to love car shopping. I might still. I hate the negotiating and such but I loved looking at the cars. I would do it when I wasn't even looking to buy.

I need to go back to the Music Inn on West 4th street and some exotic instrument store in the East Village. Sure I can't play anything that doesn't mean I don't like looking at what's out there. You need an oud I can tell you where to get one. And of course I'll always look at the silly instruments, kazoos, Jew's harps, slide whistles, etc.

Then there's the European import food store near my therapy. I love to see what kinds of chocolate treats they have. It isn't just chocolate. The first time they had these great bacon snacks, think a cheese doodle but tasting like bacon. They have never had them since.

I don't like clothes shopping and will never do that for entertainment. But I do have a great boyfriend skill, I can go clothes shopping with a woman and not say "That's looks great buy it and we'll leave." I can be patient. I learned that as a survival skill as a kid shopping with my mother. Too bad I never get to exercise that skill as a boyfriend, just as a friend.

Then there are the stores that I'll call toy stores but aren't classic toy stores. They are for adults. The ultimate one is, Lovs Saves the Day was in the East Village. These stores are filled with novelties like classic lunch boxes and windup toys and magic tricks and insane games. The fact that you can't categorize what you'll find is what makes them so much fun.

OK so I wrote about shopping. Not what I planned but it's what came out. Sometimes you have to go with the flow.

Now to make eggs in my brand new skillet.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 18, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!