I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 09, 2015 - 1:01 p.m.

Aching over Terry Pratchett

I am not going to start this entry by talking about that I'm getting a late start and wondering where the morning went. That's gotten old. I'm not going to tell you that it is 11:04. I'm not going to even mention chronoklepts. I'm starting late. How can I justify writing an opening paragraph on how I'm starting late? I am going to get right down to business without an introduction.

If other people thought I was as funny as I do I'd be head writer for Colbert. No I'd be hosting Late Night. Who wants to be my sidekick?

Yesterday I had my first therapy session in a month. It was on Tuesday because Monday was Labor Day. It was a rough session. I did not respond by getting therapy food. Well OK I got bagels but that's a staple. No instead of therapy food I went to my post office box; that was even better. Why? In my box was a yellow slip. So? That yellow slip said that I had a package waiting for me. I went to the window and the clerk got it for me. Why is this important? The package was Shepherd's Moon, the final Tiffany Aching Novel by Terry Pratchett. There is nothing better for soothing my savage breast, not even music. Unlike the real world Terry Pratchett novels make sense. Discworld is a perfectly reasonable world that sensibly sits on the back of four elephants that stand on the great world turtle A'Tuin. Tiffany Aching is perhaps my favorite fictional character. She's no longer a little girl, I'm not sure how old she is, he hasn't said yet, but I'm guessing 18. She's striking out on her own steading. Oh I guess I need to tell you that she's a witch. Why is she a witch? Because she wanted to help people. That's what witches do. She's smart she's brave she's resourceful and she saves the world now and then and has done so since she was 8 when she faced a monster that took her brother armed only with a cast iron skillet. Granny Weatherwax, the greatest witch in Discworld is also in the book. I love Granny too. Even DEATH loves Granny or at least admires her.

I'm only on page 50 but I think DEATH might loom large in this book as Terry Pratchett knew he was dying when he wrote it He's tying up loose ends here. The book is wonderful but there's a layer of sadness over all the insanity. He was a good enough writer to say many things at once. And he's a good enough writer to always work magic on me. Because of my eyes I have not been able to read but for this I found a way. On the subway I took off my glasses and held the book a few inches from my face. At home I took out my old distance glasses which can now work as reading glasses. I stopped on the way home and bought a lightbulb so now my room is well let. That helps quite a bit.

When I'm reading a book I like to read with the lights off. I used to have a light over my bed for reading but I don't know. Then I used the light that clips to the book but that's not bright enough for me to read by with my eyes the way they are. So last night I took the headlamp I use at Falcon Ridge and read by that. That worked well. I'm keeping it by my bed now. I'll finish the book in a few days. Perhaps when I do I can try reading something else. I can go back to Age of Innocence. I feel better about myself when I'm reading.

I didn’t go out for therapy food but I ate a ton when I got home. I made sweet garlic chicken and Cajun roasted potatoes. I then finished off the Reece Cup Ice cream I had. I must have eaten a pint. Oh and I finished off the chocolate brownies I took home from the House concert on Friday. Yes I was a pig. Now I have to go shopping again.

Last night I listened to Brian Norton's "It's All about the Music" on WFDU. It was a great show and not just because he played my requests and gave me two shout-outs. Here's a few of the people he played that I was delighted to get to hear on the radio ;

The Pogues
Cherish the Ladies
Carolann Solebello – Twice!
The Boxcar Lilies
Red Molly
Sarah Jarosz
Richard Shindell
Honor Finnegan
Caitlin Canty
Barnaby Bright
That includes more people that have played John Platt's On Your Radar than John Platt's played the last two weeks combined. Red Molly, Honor and Barnaby Bright have all played the Budgiedome. The Boxcar Lilies and Caitlin Canty should have played. If you are around give Brian a listen. Oh and the show is called "It's All About the Music" Brian doesn’t know where "Roots and More" came from .That's what it says on the playlists. But there is this, It's All About The Music. That's the show I will guest on from time to time.

What do you think about my using guest as a verb? Host is both a noun and a verb so guest should be able to do double duty too. Even if nobody ever used it as a verb before it isn't wrong. It's clear what it means and there is no easier way of putting it. I'd have to say "be a guest on" which is four words where one can do.

I have an adventure planned for today. I'll tell you about it tomorrow. I don't know if my eyes can handle it but I'm going to try and spend my time reading today instead of on the computer. What's for breakfast? I think it's time for an omelet.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 09, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!