I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 19, 2017 - 11:29 a.m.

I'm Too Sexi

It's hard to get anything done when it's your birthday and you're on Facebook. I keep getting alerts that people are posting on my timeline. I'm going to let them pile up while I write this. It helps that I have a rule that I suggest you adopt. I don't expect people to send out personalized thankyou messages on their birthday. I'm trying to make the feel good, not create an obligation. I didn't just make this up for my birthday. Shame on you for thinking that.

I celebrated the day before my birthday by picking up my mail and going shopping. Did I have a box full of birthday cards? No, I had a box full of mail for somebody else. I keep getting this woman's credit card mailings. I wish the post office would take note that she's not me and stop them before they reach my box.

Then I did double shopping, so exciting. First, I walked half a mile to Trader Joe's. Then I took a new route to Aldi. By the time I was finished I had a heavy load of groceries. That nudged me to try another route home, one with three buses. I checked the time, the first bus was coming in four minutes so it was worth it. This was probably wise as my back started bothering me. Last time I bought a ton of groceries I hurt it and this aggravated it.

I got home late, around eight. I went upstairs to my computer and did not get up the rest of the night. I was tired and for reasons I don't get I was depressed. Know what I had for dinner? Swiss rolls and fudge marshmallow cookies. That's not good. I had trouble keeping my eyes open. The one thing that helped was watching Phineas & Ferb; it was perhaps my favorite episode, Dude, We're Getting the Band Back Together. This is what I call music.

Every other version of this that I found on YouTube misspelled Love Handel. Did none of them get the joke? It's spelled right on the bass drum. I expect more literacy from fans of Phineas & Ferb. Watching that was clearly the highlight of my day.

Don't worry, the depression is for the most part over. Every once in a while, my amygdala says something snarky to me but I'm ignoring it.

My sister Alison called me from Prince Edward Island. She had to use her friend's phone so she couldn't talk for long. I didn't even find out if her friend is Anne Shirley. I'm going to assume she is.

I don't have elaborate plans for today, my party is on Sunday. I'm meeting Dan for lunch, that's about it. I bought chicken wings, maybe I'll make Buffalo wings for dinner. That's a treat. I'll have ice cream for dessert and then treat myself to a movie on Amazon that isn't free with Prime. I want to see Avengers: Age of Ultron because it's referenced on Agents of Shield.

I'm a sexagenarian now; does that mean I should celebrate with sex? Any volunteers to help me? I didn't think so. Back in high school in the early mid-70s we had a computer from the 1950s, The Monrobot. You programmed it in assembler or machine language. It used base 16 and the manual referred to it as sexidecimal not the current hexadecimal. Sexidecimal should be correct, dec is Latin, the Greek form is dek. So, the first part should use the Latin sex not the Greek hex. I always assumed that as all computer engineers never mature past adolescence they couldn't say sexidecimal without giggling so they changed it. As you can tell, I'm far more mature than that. Sexidecimal hee hee.

My amygdala was snarking me again. I better make bacon and eggs to feel better. Yipes, I was supposed to eat early as I'm going out for lunch. Good thing I have a bottomless maw.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 19, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!