I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 15, 2014 - 1:13 p.m.

Order!

I forgot to bring lunch today so let's see if I can finish this fast enough to leave me time to go to whole foods and pick up some peanut butter and a bagel before class.

Last night was the first night of Pesach the one Jewish holiday I actually celebrate. Why? It's tradition, it's fun, friends and family, and our Seder concentrates more on the theme of freedom than god. So each year I look forward to going up to Norwalk CT for our Seder. And each year I explain to you, My Gentle Readers, that it's at the home of my sister Alison's college roommate Sylvia, and high school boyfriend Louis. I doubt very much any of you can say that, minus the names of course. Part of our tradition is being untraditional. Sylvia how long have we been doing this? 25 years? I know that the first time you had to snail-mail us the directions.

I of course did not get it together to leave early enough to buy something from the Kosher Bakery and the world's best apple cider like I had planned. Sometimes it really is hard being me. Simple things can be a struggle.

I did make it to Grand Central Station in plenty of time for my train even though I had to go to three ticket machines before I found one that worked. I plan for that sort of thing.

I got picked up by Denny one of Louis and Sylvia's daughters, Marjorie is the other. There are another once a year family. The other is the Budgiedomers and Steeple Tenters at Falcon Ridge.

This year my nephew Max, and his fianc� Caila ( I have to fight typing Calla and Calia) flew in from California for the Seder. They are getting married Falcon Ridge weekend. Good thing it's close enough to Hillsdale that I can drive to it and back to the Festival.

This is the first time that I can remember the weather being nice enough that we hung out outside without jackets before the Seder began. Too bad we couldn't hold it outside. We wouldn't have to open the door for Elijah, he could have just walked around the garage. I bet he'd appreciate that.

So why is our Seder different than all other Seders? It's more fun. I took a series of pictures to show you a few reasons why.

This is my yarmulke. Marjorie, or was it Denny, I'm sorry I forgot which, took up felting and gave us all felt party favors. The men got yarmulkes. Look what's on mine.

What's on the yarmulke? Looks like a penguin! Burma! Why did you say "Burma?" I panicked.

Another yarmulke had a robot. OK do I need to show you more? If your Seder does not have a penguin and a yarmulke it is pointless to argue that it's as much fun as ours. But I will show you more.


Frogs, the most benign plague.


A Seder is not Halakhal without kazoos.


Max does not have boils, he IS boils


Caila is darkness


Look at her face. Frogs are too a plague.

Normally the children search for the afikoman. We define adult as over 42 so everyone 41 and under joins the hunt. There are ten pieces of afikoman, one for each of them. Don't you think that Matilda Denny's dog should have been able to seach? He was the youngest one there. Here are the lucky winners holding their piece of afikoman.

We each get a personalized Haggadah, the program for the Seder. Does your Haggadah have your name on it? Not as much fun as mine then.

I didn't get pictures of us hitting each other with scallions or record us singing. One of these days I have to set up a video of us doing "Chad Gad Yaw." I can't just video it myself as I have to sing along.

This is what we look like sitting around the table.

There was one disaster, a cup of coffee was dropped and hot coffee got on Matilida. Sge was rushed to the Vet ER. I have not gotten a report back but I'm guessing she's OK. Denny did exactly the right thing and applied cold water to the burn immediately.

I'm not big on big meal food but I always look forward to pesach desserts. There were amazing chocolate brownies that have to right being so moist as they are kosher for Passover. The only thing I know will always be there is chocolate covered matzah. I'm going to start going with that translation as that's what I grew up with and it's in our Haggadah. Chocolate matzah has no right to be so good.

Sadly I was the only one taking the train back to the City so I rode the 9:37 by myself. Sylvia drove me to the station. It was nice I got some quality time with her. I'm always so grateful to be invited.

I have other things to write about but I'm going to save them and let today's edition of Wise Madness be kosher l'pesach.

Does anyone not at our Seder and not Sabbath observant know whence the title?


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 15, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!