I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 07, 2015 - 11:58 a.m.

A Hero Ain't Nothing But A Character in "Much Ado About Nothing"

The new word is still annoying. It doesn't open with a blank page. It takes clicks to get there. And I don't like the look. Is there a way to change the colors? I'm overwhelmed with white. OK. I got it to open with a blank page. That's an improvement. Help is not working. That is not an improvement. Any suggestions what to do about that?

So I guess this is my new thing, starting off by discussing the growing pains of the new computer. Well it is always on my mind as I start so it makes sense.

Now to talk about fun things. I had a dilemma yesterday, two shows that I HAD to go to. Jean Rohe and The Lords of Liechtenstein at the Minstrel Coffeehouse or Scott Wolfson and Other Heroes at Spiral Sounds Concerts aka Gidge and Loyse's house in Jersey City. Jean and the Lords both made my list of acts I saw the most last year. And it's way less of a pain to get to JC than Morristown. Actually it takes me just about the same time to get there as Williamsburg right here in Brooklyn. All I had to do is take the to Fulton, walk a few blocks, and take the PATH one stop to Exchange Place. When I do that I get rewarded with this view.

I take that picture every time I go. The walk is simple, I walk along the Hudson then make a right. The problem is there are no street signs to know what street I'm on. I've only gone that way three times before and I don't recognize where to make the turn. So I use my phone to navigate. It tells me when to make the right. I just put it in my pocket and wait for it to say something. It didn't! That meant I walked a block too far. That slowed me down by two and that led to a grave result. I was NOT the first one there! I didn't even know the two guys that beat me. They came together so I count as the second one there. First thing Gidge did was comment that I wasn't the first. While I was still talking to him Karen walked in. We went upstairs where the music is and sat together saving a seat for Katherine, Karen's bandmate in Bobtown. We were soon joined by Laura and Angel the other two members of the JC house concert troika. Who else was there that I know? Anyone? Well there was Trish that I met last concert there, not sure if that counts. Let's assume I'm being an idiot and a dear friend that I love was there that I'm forgetting. The idiot part is not an assumption, that's an empirical fact. Oh there was one more but I have an excuse for forgetting her. Cait arrived late and was not there for the pre-show gathering and that's what I was picturing.

I am an early adopter of Scott Wolfson and Other Heroes. I knew most of them before they were a band. They are Budgiedome alumni. Or are they a Budgiedome alumnus? It's one band but I use the plural pronoun "they." I'm just never short what's right.

They are also a great band. Scott is a prolific songwriter, he wrote over 60 songs last year They have so much energy. They have sad songs that break your heart.I usually use cognitive dissonance when describing the band. I'm not this time. I don't want to repeat myself. Damn I just used it didn't I? They get me dancing in my seat. How's that. Oh and I feel free to heckle. You know I love a band when I heckle. They have a lot of instruments. Let's see if I can remember who plays what. Mya Adrien on mandolin and guitar, Chris on percussion, Skyler on keyboard, accordion, and concertina, Matt on guitar and banjo, Scott on guitar and vocal, and Kirk on upright bass. Hey not bad. I knew Mya Adriene, Scott, and Kirk before the band was formed.


Mya, Chris, Matt, and Skyler

Skyler, Scott, and Kirk

After the show I did not make a quick getaway I stayed and talked with Kirk for the most part. He made me miss my train. Google Maps tells me when I have to leave. I had to wait 15 minutes for the next but on the bright side that one left from Exchange place which is not only a prettier walk but I know how to get there. I always get lost going to Grove Street. The house is halfway between them. I was home shortly before midnight.

I will be back again next month when Harpeth Rising is playing. You know I won't miss them. How much are Gidge and Loyse kindred musical spirits? Look who is coming up:

Friday, April 24 - Harpeth Rising
Friday, Sept. 25 - Spyuten Duyvil
Friday, November 6 - Bumper Jacksons

Those are all very much my people.

This isn't too long so I could write about things I've been thinking about but it's almost noon and brunch is calling my name.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 07, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!