I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 25, 2013 - 5:14 p.m.

mmmmsausage

My computer at school is having issues. Some pages aren't loading. I wonder if it is all the software updates I can't get because I don't have admin privileges. I need flash and java and who knows what else. I got this message on "this day in history:"

Oops! It's probably not your fault, but something bad just happened to the Internet.

Yesterday I help Celebrian get the Last Homely House West of the Mountains ready for a house cocert. There was much moving of furniture with the aid of Arwen, Elladan and Elrohir. I don't enjoy the physical moving but I do like the planning out of where to put things and the path to move things.

Long day today. I was up at 4 AM so I could get to WFUV by six. I got a bit more sleep than usual. I ended up taking a nap for a over an hour in the early evening. Good thing trains actually follow a schedule. I got to the station just as the train pulled in. I get far too much pleasure out of making perfect connections. I also love that I'm not in the least cold since I bundle up so much. I pretty much look like Kenny from South Park.

I only worked a half day at the station, six hours. We did not have many volunteers so we were kept busy. Victoria took pictures. Want to see me in my new glasses?


What do you think? Am I a hipster?

I like this one with Dixon. This is totally posed. We are both hams. Taylor made so to speak.


One more This is the group shoot.

I went from the station straight to school. I think I have gotten better at teaching symmetry tests. It is something students have trouble with. Part of it is that it needs practice to get the hang of it and students too often don�t do it. I think I've simplified it enough now that they won't be afraid to start on them.

I have two very different things to write about but I think I have a segue. I just don't have one from what I've written so far.

There are some people that I have an overwhelming and unexplained fondness for. They aren't people that I'm particularly close to. They I don�t' see them that often. They haven't acted particularly nice to me. Yet every time I see them or think about them I get happy. One element though not universal is physical attraction. It's hard to make a scientific study but it seems that a disproportionate number are unusually beautiful women. I was interacting with one today and on the standard 1 to 10 scales she's a 37. But that is far from being the only criterion. I don't feel that way about most beautiful women. I do feel that way about people I don't find attractive at all.

Then there are women that I am strongly attracted to even though they don't fit my usual aesthetic criteria. I don't think they are that beautiful but I get a strong gut feeling of attraction when I am near them or even think of them.

When I feel things like that that I don't understand I want to understand them. I try to examine myself from all angles trying to figure it out. It's part of a more general curiosity. The way I think of it is that I want to know how sausages are made. Messy details don't scare me. Knowing how things work or how they are made increases my appreciation of things. That's why I loved music appreciation, history, and theory. It's why I love science. Knowing that a rainbow comes from internal reflection in suspended water drops makes a rainbow more beautiful, not less. It gives it depth, not just a matter of , "look at the colors."

Watching sports is always more interesting if you know the inside game, the things that make the difference between success and failure. I'm sure not getting that is part of why I don't like soccer and ice hockey and why I do love baseball and basketball.

And of course I always want to know how I work both physically and emotionally. Part of me can enjoy my infirmities if the explanation is interesting enough. Whenever I have a Crohn's attack I try to model what's going on inside my body. If nothing else it's a distraction.

Now I have to run. I'm seeing the captivating Kat Quinn (double alliteration) a few blocks from my office.

Oh Carey sorry for disappointing you. This was not about our favorite patty sausage.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 25, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!