I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 15, 2016 - 10:55 a.m.

Satan and Honor

The internet connection is intermittent that's a bit distracting. I will write this before doing the rest of my morning routine. We'll see how not reading other blogs and comic and my Facebook memories affects my writing. Of course now you know what's going on so your judgement will be tainted. Tell you what, just say this is brilliant and I'll be happy. Don't feel any pressure to be honest.

I was going to write all kinds of philosophical things but instead I'm going to write about my day; the bad part with Satan and the good part with Honor. Yesterday I made a very limited access Facebook note about Satan. No not "the Adversary" from the bible. Did you know that's what Satan means? Satan is the code name I'm giving to the other house guest of Jane and Bernie. I'm not being very subtle. I'll give you a short catch up. Bernie and Jane were away for the weekend and Satan who is just staying a few days decided to rearrange everything in the house. When I went to make breakfast I couldn't find anything and access to important things were blocked. He was nowhere to be seen. I gathered what I needed for breakfast and gained access to the dishwasher and the trash can. When he came in I said, "Please don't move things around." He took great offense at that. We got in a fight. He said he was just cleaning. When I pointed out that he should have finished then and not left everything in disarray he said, "I wasn't thinking about how it would affect Gordon." He thought that was a valid excuse instead of the definition of being inconsiderate. He then complained that I live here and don’t' empty the dishwasher. I of course do and that's a joke I have with Jane. She calls me Jeeves and says I'm the butler. When I told him that he said, "You're a terrible Butler and I'd never hire you." I said something I shouldn't, "That's good as if I were your butler I'd kill you." Bad thing to say but it had a good effect. We just stopped talking. As before then he kept annoying me by talking while I was trying to write or read or watch TV not talking was a good thing. I spent the rest of the day upstairs and he spent it downstairs with nothing to do with each other.

Then yesterday I go down for breakfast and he's there reading his phone. We ignore each other. I fed Jane's cat's and his dog, I didn't mention he had a dog, that's fine as he didn't mention he had one when he asked if he could stay here, immediately ate all the cat food while Satan just sat there. I didn't know it but the dog did he same thing the day before and Satan knew it. I texted Jane to find out where there's more cat food. Then I made my breakfast. That went fine, we sat without talking. I had finished my coffee and fed the cats. This time I put their food in the bedroom with the door closed so the dog couldn't get to it. I sat down on the couch and watched the Met game. Matz was pitching a no-hitter through six. I wanted to go out but I couldn't leave during a no -hitter. Then Satan started to complain about the flies. He said, "come over here and look at them." I said, "that's OK I believe you. Then without asking he takes out some bug spray and starts spraying the room like it was air freshener. I don't even know if it was flying bug spray. It might have been for spraying surfaces. He sprayed all around the room. He didn't stop. He went on for a minute. I asked him to stop and he said, "Look at the flies." I had to get out of there. I went upstairs and tried one more time. "How long does the can say to spray for?" He looked, "twenty seconds." I said you've done it far longer than that. His response was, "but look at all the flies!" I ran upstairs. I showered but by then the bug spray and spread upstairs so I got out of there. It had to be toxic.

It was a zillion degrees out and I had no particular place to go. I went to the Snug, the pub, to watch the game. As I walked in they replayed the first hit that Matz gave up and they took him out of the game. Ugh. So now what? I decided to ride the bus and subway till it was time for dinner. At least there'd be AC. I decided to do something fun, ride the to the last stop, Brooklyn Bridge/City Hall. City Hall was the first stop built on the subway. The original station is too small for modern trains but is often used to shoot movies. When the turns around it goes through the old station. I had heard that you can stay on the train and see the station as it turns around. I decided to do that. I stayed on the local the entire way as I was in the opposite of a rush. I was looking for ways to kill time and stay cool. I got to Brooklyn Bridge and stayed. The doors closed. I got my phone out and put the camera on video so I could show My Gentle Readers the hidden gem of the subway system. There was announcement, "Get off the train!" I guess you can't stay on it and see the old station.

I decided to eat at KFC in the East Village because it's very cheap, I get a great meal for $5. I went there. The doors were wide open. If felt like the AC might be on but with the doors open it was still a sweat box. So much for plan A. I wasn't looking for good food but cheap food with AC. I went to IHOP for the 55+ special. Hey it's cheap. There were problems with the service but fine. I was in no rush. I didn't want to go home and have to deal with Satan.

When I was done I texted Honor and asked if she wanted to grab some Iced Coffee. I wasn't that far from her house. She told me that she was in Chinatown so I said, "OK another time. I got on the train uptown and right after we pulled out of 59th street I got a text from Honor saying she was coming home and we could meet for coffee. I went up to 86th Street and took the next train downtown. I wanted to see Honor and I didn't want to see Satan so I didn't mind at all. We decided to meet at Café Grumpy. I arrived first. The woman at the counter gave me a funny look. Then she said, "You know we close at 7:30. I said what time was it? It was 7:13. I texted Honor to find out her order. She got there a few minutes later and we stayed till it closed then sat on the bench outside. It had cooled off enough by then to not be unbearable.

We had our usual great talk. I told her about Satan except I used his real name. Now here's where it gets funny and confusing. Honor decided that we should call anyone annoying Satan's real name. So I'm using a code name for him while his real name is a code name when I'm talking to Honor. Soon after I met Honor I decided she should be Carey's best friend. This I exactly what Carey I used to do. My judgement was correct. Of course Carey and I would continue to do it for years. Otherwise what's the point? Why do I have friends? I don't know.

I hung out with Honor for a few hours then headed home. I took my time so as to minimize my interactions with Satan. When I got home he was laying on the couch in the sun room I use as my living room. It's where I do all my writing. I can't do it in my room where there's no place to sit. There's a bed I can't even sit up in. I went downstairs. I had to be quiet as Jane and Bernie were back. I went there to watch the Olympics on my computer with earphones and post my 5, 10, and 15 years ago blogs. But then the internet was out. So I had a banana, gave up, and decided to go to sleep.

I got up this morning and there was a great shot of the sunrise out the window I usually take pictures from. I couldn't take it as Satan was still on the couch instead of his bed and I didn't want to disturb him.

Now he's downstairs and I believe he's leaving today. Then I can put things back the way they were. He felt if he's staying a few days he could rearrange things. There's a computer sitting in the middle of the floor of the sun room I keep having to walk around. He's using it as a table, not a computer.

OK now to see if I can post this. I'm getting internet radio so perhaps the internet is working better now. If I can't post this then you won't be reading this. At least not now. Yet I'm still writing this. It's a Zen thing.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 15, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!