I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 08, 2015 - 10:12 p.m.

Music to Money, Rust to Gold, and Kat to Rockwood

I was supposed to be asleep an hour ago. I have to get up at 7 hours. I am going to write a very quick edition of Wise Madness but try and pack in the usual amount of brilliance. Who is the wise guy that just shouted out, "you mean none?"

I didn't volunteer yesterday because I'm not insane. Come on, be nice; the same guy just shouted out, "You're nuts if you think you're not insane." Why do I put up with the hecklers? Now where was I? oh right, I got home at 3:30 AM on Wednesday morning and I had to be at Rockwood Music Hall at 6 PM so if I wanted to get sleep spending three and a half hours traveling to and from Fordham to volunteer didn't leave much time for actually volunteering. So I took the day off and you were rewarded by my writing this, It's All About Me On The Radio. If you missed that catch up now.

Then last night I went to see Kat Quinn at Rockwood Music Hall Stage 3. I was joined there by Fred and Dan. They are the two people I go to the most shows with by a pretty good margin. Fred and I even have a usual table at Rockwood 3. I think there should be a sign on it with our names so we get to claim it whenever we are there. I think a lot of things. This was Kat's first show at Stage 3, quite exciting. Even more exciting it was the release show for her new EP Rust to Gold. Everyone in the audience got a free copy of it. I really need to talk to Kat about the basic economics of music. Here's the short version; the artistsgives the audience music in exchange for money. Everyone get that? That same guy said, 'Can you go a little slower?" I really need a better audience. Why don't I get money in exchange for my writing? Oh right, nobody would pay for this. But Kat's music is different. It's great. It will give you pleasure. It will give you thoughts. So now you can give her money. She is selling the CD on her Website. No she isn't. But she should. But you can buy it on Amazon, Rust to Gold .

Kat's song Kind of Brave is about a guy sending a love letter on a paper airplane. My tradition is to always throw a paper airplane at her when she's finished. Last night it was her first song so she knew I might not have time to make one then so she texted me to warn me that's how she's starting. So of course I forgot to make the elaborate plane I planned on making but I did make one in advance. I wrote on the wings, "Rust To Gold." Lots of bands use skywriting but who else has a plane with the album name written across it twice, once on each wing; Kat's a rock star. She's actually a very clever distinctive lyricist that sets the lyrics to catchy pop melodies.

Kat was joined for most of the songs by Jo Kroger. I know Jo well, I've seen her with Kat and performing her own material many times. Yet every time I say or write her name the first thing that comes to my mind is "Jo Grant." That's the name of primary companion of the third Doctor Who. She's perhaps my second favorite companion so that's a compliment to Ms. Kroger. Jo didn't just sing. She also played a key musical instrument the popping balloon on That String. She did a great job but I still wanted that job.

Kat was joined by two other friends on some songs but I totally forgot their names, just that the both had first and last names that start with a K sound, as of course so does Kat and Quinn. Jo should change her name to Ko so she could fit in.

It was an EP release show but Kat as already ahead in her writing and did new songs. One was untitled. She asked for suggestions. I came up with Before the Echo. if that's what she uses remember I get the credit.

I have not had time to edit my pictures so once again I'm stealing Fred's.


Kat


Jo

After the show I made a quick dash home so I could get some sleep.

Today I was back at WFUV from 10 AM to 6 PM. I had my usual good time and did my usual good job. I came home and made macaroni and cheese for dinner and it came out the best I've made it. I realized that I had not been using enough butter. It's pretty much all butter, four tablespoons is what's called for. Actually it calls for margarine but I'm not going to use that. OK I have to get up in six hours. I'm going to sleep.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 08, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!