I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 13, 2013 - 12:07 p.m.

It's the End of the World As We Know

I slept late today, too late to play the WfUV Question of the Day. I woke just as it started at 9:15. That's for the best as I didn't go to sleep till after 2 AM and my song would not have been played in any event.

I almost finished writing my final yesterday. I have to write the last two questions, then reformat everything so it fits two sides of one sheet of paper then take the test and make sure there are no mistakes. Then I'm off to school to print it out, print out graph paper, and insert everything into the blue test booklets.

I stayed in all day yesterday and didn't do the grocery shopping or laundry I need. Maybe I'll get the shopping done today. What I did manage to do was go out last night to see Jean Rohe out in Babylon. I was there last month to see Bobtown. I called Mike who I knew was going and arranged to meet him for dinner. We ate at the same Greek restaurant we ate at last month. The English language just failed. Read the last sentence and tell me who ate at the Greek Restaurant last month. The we I referred to was Me and the members of Bobtown. But you might have thought I meant me and Mike. Finnish has something like 8 words for we and Tolkien's invented Elvish languages have a dozen or so. There's we, me and you. There's me and you and other people. me and you and everyone else, me and one other person, me and a group of other people, me and everyone else �

Look a bunny!

I had to take the train from Atlantic Terminal. the problem with that it is so easy to get there that I often wait till the last minute to get there and I had not bought my ticket in advance. I was lucky and there was not a big line at the ticket machine and made the train by three whole minutes. I told Mike I'd meet him at the American Legion Hall where the concert was at 7. I got there at 7. I'm good. I had to wait for Mike because he had trouble parking. Public Transit rules!

We grabbed seats down and went to eat. I ordered what I usually order in a Greek restaurant souvlaki. Theirs is exceptionally good,. Funny thing I don�t usually like pork. What's that you say? What about bacon and Taylor ham? That's cured and processed pork. I love that. I love pork sausages. But pork straight from the pig and cooked never appealed to me. But for some reason souvlaki is great. It doesn't taste like pork. I also love pork ribs. Pulled pork is smoked so that doesn't count. Dinner was great. The conversation was great. Our sense of time was not great. I all of a sudden said, "what time is it? It was seven minutes to show time. Good thing the restaurant is right down the block. We got in and the stuff we left on our seats was gone! I figured it was with the band's stuff. They had left things on seats too. We went over and saw a NERFA bag like Mike's. But the band was a NERFA so it could have been one of theirs. It was Mike but they took it because just as it thought they thought it belonged to someone else in the band. But my bag wasn't there! Someone from the band asked if the book on the chair was ours too. It was! That's what I saved my seat with my book. But what about my bag? Oh no I'm an idiot and left it at the restaurant. I went over to the chair to get my coat so I could walk back and there was my bag on the chair. Yes I had been wearing it and even put it down when I thought they had taken my bag. How can anyone do such a thing? Easy I'm an idiot.

So now for the show. What's left to say. I have to do a count but I'm sure I've seen Jean more than any other artists in the last year. There are only so many ways you can say genius, brilliant, and talented.

I'll just show you. I took videos. I took three but I'll show two. the first is what I think of as the prototypical Jean Rohe song, Nobody Told Me To Dance. It's complex, there are verses in a foreign language, Arabic, there's audience participation. There are a million things going on at once.

Oh and that's the stripped down version. She only had a four piece band with her, not the usual 7.

But Jean doesn't need all that to blow you away. All she needs is her voice, her guitar, and her songwriting.

That WfUV won't play that drives me nuts.

Arrrghhh. I recorded one more, "New Year" it came out great but for some reason the end was cut off. Oh well. Go and look it up on youtube and watch it yourself.

I have been putting off making my list of top albums of 2013 there are so many great ones. There are still a few I own that I haven't listened to yet. But the one thing I know for sure is that my top choice, the best album of 2013, and one of the best of the millennium is Jean Rohe & The End of the World Show.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 13, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!