I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 26, 2013 - 12:01 a.m.

On The Road Again

I think I'm not going to get a chance to update tomorrow morning so I'm trying to do it now, I'm a bit sleepy but I'll do my best.

I had to leave the apartment in Spanish Harlem today. The apartment had a lot to be desired, like a bed, a doorknob, and air conditioning, but I really liked Evan, the musician I subletted from. He knows Bob Sherman, been a guest on his classical music show. It is such a small world.

I went from Spanish Harlem up to White Plains. That meant taking Metro North. I did something I never do. I took a cab. I had two suitcases, my backpack, and a big bag and it was going to be too hard to drag it down the steps of the subway. I was going to walk the mile and a third or so but the bags were very heavy and it was very hot and I'm emotionally spent. I couldn't get a cab on Lex so I tried on Park. Here I am on Park and 106th street and ask him to take me to Metro North, that's on Park and 125th street. He had no idea what I mean. I said the trianon 125th. He still didn't know. We were sitting across the street from the tracks. I had all this luggage and he didn't help me put it in the trunk. Then he didn't turn the AC on. When I asked him to he said, "OK" but didn't do a thing. when we got there it was $10, which seemed like a lot to go less than a mile. I gave him a $20 and he didn't seem to know what to do with it. I told him I wanted change, then told him $10. It was such a bad cab ride, he did nothing right. I told him that I'd have tipped if he would have put the AC on. He told me it was broken but that isn't what he said when I asked him to turn it on.. After I didn't tip him He tried to earn a tip by saying he'd help me into the station with my bags. He made no move to help me get them out of the trunk. In the station I can wheel them, I don't think I've ever not tipped a cab before. Well maybe the one that was illiterate and couldn't even read exit signs on the highway.

Once I got out of the cab the train was easy except I couldn't get a seat and still hold my luggage so I had to stand. Then when I got off the train there was a handicap ramp but that didn't let you off the right side of the tracks. That was annoying. Somebody took pity on me and helped me with one bag on the overpass.

So now I'm at my friends' house sitting in an air conditioned room using internet that doesn't keep cutting off. That is luxury. Earlier I got to spend quality time with my friends, though not at the same time. They are a married couple and one was always with the kids. But I got to blow bubbles and talk about my problems and catch up with their lives and talk about Robert Heinlein and get free medical care. You know those sores I had on my leg last summer? One came back. My doctor friend spotted it as I was wearing shorts and confirmed what I thought; It was a staph infection. He wrote me a prescription. I'll get rid of it fast this time. He also drained it and cleaned it up. It's nice having friends.

I am taking to someone about subletting his apartment in the Lower East Side for July and August. Wish me luck. It's a walk up so I'll get in good shape. As long as it has AC and Internet I'll be happy.

So now that you know I'm safe and sound and even have a bite on an apartment I'll tell you about a weird encounter I had this afternoon. I went to the bank to get the rest of the second weeks rent on the apartment I just left,. I stopped in Starbucks for a frappaccino, I wanted something very cold. When I was on the line a young woman asked me about my WFUV t-shirt. I explained it was from a radio station that I'm a member of and volunteer at. She wrote down the URL without knowing anything about the music. I talked about what they played and she was interested in the Irish! my people. So you're thinking, "he me a woman that took a sudden interest in him, is their romance on the horizon?" I'd have thought that's what she was thinking except for one thing. I told you she's a young woman, I didn�t say how young. She's in High School, Bronx High School of Science to be precise. Of course she's a geek, who else would want to talk to me? So what was this about? She kept talking to me and wondered what she was getting at. When we got separated when we paid she came right over to me and stated talking again. Then she left. Then she came back because she was disoriented and didn't know which way was uptown. But when she came back and asked me it was like she didn't remember me form five minutes earlier. The whole thing felt so strange.

My clothes in the drier are finished so I'm going to take them out and go to sleep. I'm going to be bad and not fold them till the morning. If I looked rumpled you'll know why.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 26, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!