I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 26, 2013 - 5:50 a.m.

Rubin Sandwich

Let's see if I can knock this off in 40 minutes. So you know how I always complain that I'm starting to write too late? Not today, it is 5:21 AM. I have to be at WfUV at 7:30 and that means leaving here at 6:05. But I got up early and got ready quick so now I have 45 minutes to write, but I want to leave five minutes early to give myself a cushion.

Last night after writing I headed to The Rubin Museum to see Red Molly. My plan was to walk from school on 61st street down to the museum o 17th Street, stopping for dinner at Steak & Shake at 52nd Street. That became my plan after I called LORi and got her voice mail. My first choice was to spend some time talking to her. I got to Steak & Shake and saw I had a voice mail. Yes it was LORi. She had called probably when I hopped in the subway right before I had changed my mind and decided to walk. I wanted to talk to her so I called her back. Why do they play loud music at a restaurant like that? It's so annoying. If I was with someone I'd want to be able to have a conversation. If not I'd want to be able to sit in peace while I ate. Is it to get people moving out of their fast? It is someplace with limited seating that needs a rapid turnover.

In any event I talked to LORi before and during my dinner. I talked to her when I left and started heading downtown. She had to go a few blocks after I left. I made it to 44th street and realized, yet again, that I'm an idiot. I had left my bag in the restaurant. Why do I have to be reminded that I'm an idiot. Why does it come as a shock each time? Oh yeah, it�s because I'm an idiot.

I made my way back in and the woman that took my order said, "You came back for your bag? That made me feel good, it was still there. The most valuable thing is the bag itself but I have my emergency phone chargers in their and the book I'm reading and who knows what else. By that time I didn't have time to walk. I had exactly enough time to get to the museum on time to meet Ken. I was going because Ken won tickets to the show from WfUV. That's exactly the kind of show that it's easy to win tickets for because the station doesn't play them during the week. It's only John Platt's listeners that know him. That's a lot less competition. I got tickets for Dan Bern for the same reason. The old time fans know who he is but not the newer listeners.

I actually had a little extra time to get there but I just missed the train and had to wait six minutes for the next one. Just missing trains has been an recurring theme the last few days.

I got down there just a bit late and Ken arrived the same time. He picked up the tickets. He had never been there before so I told him to look around the museum while I lined up. I knew that for a seven o'clock show six was when the line would start. There were two people there before me. The very first was Karen. I knew I'd know whoever was first in line. I ended up knowing a few more people. One whose name totally escapes me I met at a Red Molly show years ago when he left his jacket behind. I don't know why I ended up being the one to keep his jacket. By chance he was wearing it last night. The other one I knew was Marty, one of the WfUV volunteers. It's sad in the old days I'd know half the people at a Red Molly show. There's been a large turnover of fans.

We got seats up front which is important at the Rubin, it's almost totally acoustic. Not quite as Laurie plugged her bass in. We do the same thing at the Budgiedome.

I love the shows there. They are free of the demon electricity and the project a slide of the performers favorite piece on the back wall of the stage. It's a Museum of Himalayan art and they chose a Mandela.

I hadn't seen Red Molly in ages but this was my second time in less than a month. The not seeing them 9in ages part seems wrong too. What really seemed wrong was after the show when I didn't do merch for them. Nobody did. They had to do it themselves. When someone else I knew played there I was told that the museum provides someone to do merch and they did. I don't know what happened but I was on the wrong side of the merch table.

On the bright side that meant I got to leave earlier which I wanted to do since I had to get up so early. Actually I did stay later than almost anyone so I could get to talk to Molly, Laurie, and Abbie. But then they were leaving too so I didn't get a chance to do that much.

I headed home and showered. When I'm volunteering that's the only chance I get to shower. I don't leave time in the mornings for it. I played a bit online then went to sleep.

OK I better post this now. Today is a complicated commuting day. Up to the Bronx for WfUV till one. Then I Hastings at six. If I go home in between I won't have much time here. I could maybe go to my office but that's not the most relaxed place. I'd like to be able to lie down. Maybe I can find someplace at Fordham. I'll see.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 26, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!