I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 23, 2017 - 10:44 a.m.

Righting All Wrongs

I let the weather stop me from going out yesterday. I shouldn't do that. Tonight, I'm going to my first Met game of the season. It's grey now, it better not rain. If it does I'm gonna scream. The question is can I get myself out of the house to go shopping today? That would be nice. It shouldn't be a challenge but yet it is.

Perk of being on the radio, people are sending me albums. I've gotten two digitally, my preferred format, recently, Chris & Meredith Thompson's Lines of Longitude and ilyAIMY's Cicada. They are both so good and so different from each other. When did ilyAIMY start referring to their genre as acoustic grunge? It fits. Chris & Meredith are the opposite of grunge, they are lyrical beauty. There are many ways of making great music. I will be playing both of them, that's easy. The hard part is deciding which songs. It's my show, maybe I'll play more than one track. If I do it weekly I can afford to do that. That could be my thing, multiple tracks from new albums.

This comic is about me.


I have taught myself to not argue politics via Facebook comments but that doesn't mean I don't get riled up. Often what I'll do is write about it here where I can expand on my thoughts. More importantly it's not a direct challenge to the poster. People respond very poorly to direct challengers, they take it personally.

But it's not just politics. I am a member of a group for bridge players. Hands are posted and we discuss bidding and play of the hands. When people say something ridiculous, I find it difficult to just let it go. "How can think of doing anything but open 1 NT? It's a textbook hand." "You have four card support for partner and you aren't raising?" I never insult anyone in my comments but I do in my head. They will continue to eat at me. Same thing happens when I discuss sports.

It's not just on the internet. It's anywhere that people are wrong. I remember an argument I had with the guy at the video rental store about Darryl Strawberry. Where it was and who it was about dates this. Yes, it was the 80s and I haven't let it go.

You should be grateful that I learned to control myself. I keep most of my objections to myself. I will correct friends more than strangers, most of my friends want to know when they are wrong. When I'm corrected about facts I thank people. I want to learn and like to think that my friends do too. It's a matter of deciding if it is appropriate in that situation. If someone says that RBIs are all that matter and discount on base but slugging percentage then it is always appropriate.

Now is the appropriate time to end today's edition of Wise Madness. I'll have plenty to write about tomorrow. Let's Go Mets!


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 23, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!