I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 13, 2015 - 11:26 a.m.

First World Problem

I'm supposed to start writing by 9 AM. It's now 10:05 and I'm happy it's that early. I grade myself on a curve. Of course I'm the only one that makes the rule about the 9 AM start.

So now I'll try to pick up where I left off last entry. There will be a bit of repetition. I woke up earlier yesterday than on Saturday even though I went to sleep later the night before. OK I shouldn't assume that all My Gentle Readers have read my last entry. You should now. I'll wait. You're back. What you don't want to? I have had so many students like that. They want everything hand fed. Fine. I spent the weekend visiting Joe & Emily up in Massachusetts. That's all you'll need to know. My room is up in the, Damn, what do they call it? Not the attic, not the hobbit hole. Well they call it something. It's on the third floor but it's really the second mezzanine. It overlooks the dining room. There is no wall between me and the first floor, just a railing. Oh and a sloping ceiling that I bump into till I get used to it. The acoustics are deceiving, things on the first floor sound like they are in my room.

Now I often wake up in steps. I wake up and go back to sleep several times. One of them I heard coffee grinding. That meant it would be safe to get out of bed soon. Next time I woke up I got to the dining room just as the coffee was brought out. He shoots! He scores! Emily is a saint and as soon as she saw me she brought me a cup. It arrived at the table before I did. The only thing better than coffee in the morning is coffee somebody else made. This was followed by orange juice and a breakfast of eggs fresh laid by their own chickens and bacon from a pig that is not their own but I'm sure it would have really liked them. Does that make it worse? Well it was really good bacon. Remember for now on I'm Ish Kabacon.

The rest of the morning I talked to Joe, Emily, the kids, and Matt who also stayed over. I live alone, this is a real novelty getting to talk to people the morning. If it was routine I would probably sit in my room for hours, write and do things online. But I don't get to be with other people the most of the time so I took advantage of it.

I woke up to the sound of coffee grinding. After breakfast I showered and when I came out of there I heard Bobtown. This was not an album but the recording of their show at The Steeple Coffeehouse a few weeks ago. Their children get very excited over Bobtown. "They are my favorite singers!" I get excited too. This week it was The Kennedys. Joe and Emily clearly share my musical tastes. They video the shows and I was hearing the audio track. I have a feeling this is not the last time I'm going up there for a show.

But that ended soon enough and Emily and the kids drove me to South Station to catch my bus. We made great time and I got there 40 minutes before the bus was going to leave. I'm registered with BoltBus so I get an A ticket. A tickets get to board first so I didn't line up right away. Others did. I don't quite get it. All A ticket holders will get good seats. But then of course when more people got on the line I joined them. So much for being rational. I got a great seat near the front and nobody sat next to me. That concludes the nice things to say about BoltBus. I mentioned it last entry as I tried to write it on the bus that the Wi-Fi was at best intermittent. Not just that but my electric outlet was defective. It was too loose. The plug on my phone would simply not stay in. I was able to get the computer in but I had to keep pushing it back in. To call the Wi-Fi intermittent is kind. It would work for maybe five minutes then cut off. Then I'd have to log on again which is not automatic as I had to fill in a log in screen each time. I finally gave up. I tried listening to Ceol na nGael on my phone but I stopped because I didn't want to kill my battery so I listened to music on my computer. When I finished writing Wise Madness I tried to get online again to post it. I kept trying fill it worked. I posted it. But I lost it because I could post the link on my Livejournal or on Facebook. So I sat there again repeatedly trying to get online till it worked. Once I got it all set I put the computer away.

The bus left a little late, for no apparent reason. It was there on time. Then there was traffic so we got into New York over an hour late. This was my first time being dropped off on the east side, 39th and First. I thought that would be easier than 33rd and 12th. I walked to Grand Central Station. I used their bathroom and treated myself to a bratwurst with cheese and bacon. The more bacon you eat the more you want. Then I hopped on the and took it all the way home Of course one was leaving the platform when I arrived so I had the maximum possible wait, 11 minutes.

I made myself hash browns and crashed the rest of the evening.

So know what I didn't talk about yet? My fantasy baseball team, The Nashional Batnoses. Yesterday looked like a bad day. By the time I got off the bus I had no homeruns or stolen bases and just one RBI. Then last evening I got two homeruns and eight more RBIs and a great batting average. Oh and one pitcher got a win. I had a 21.5 point lead as of Sunday morning. Here's the current standings.

That is an insane lead. I better enjoy it while it lasts. Usually out draft takes place the Saturday after opening day. I never pay attention to the first week's stats. But others do so people that had a good first week go for more money and those that had a bad first week for less. So I end up getting lots of people that had a bad first week and I'm always near the bottom of the standings after week 1. But this year that didn't happen and I guessed I would do better. I didn't think it would be this much better. It's really luck but let's say that it's genius on my part. I really do like the team. The only star is Greg Holland who I regretted buying. But I shouldn't have. I went for him because I couldn't let him go underpriced. I didn't need a closer but he is the best in the league.

OK now to have a breakfast that has no bacon in it. I think I'm keeping it simple, poached eggs and Taylor ham.

This is embarrassing. I set Word to give the reading level. What do you think it is of these piece? It's fourth grade. So much for me being an intellectual.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 13, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!