I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 07, 2013 - 8:38 a.m.

Dance Like No One is Watching

I am starting to write at 7:30! Give me a cookie for being good,. I have to be out of here by 11:30 and head up to NERFA. I have of course not packed. Carey would be very disappointed if I had.

As I was writing yesterday I was also panicking over not having a ride to NERFA. I posted on Facebook and didn't have much luck. One friend could take me but it was later than I wanted. I want to be up there for dinner tonight.

Then I fought the anxiety and sent an email to all my friends that "liked" NERFA on Facebook. I got more rides than I could use. And people started responding from Facebook too. I am going up with John. I'm heading up to Fordham and we'll leave from there. Matt who lives in Brooklyn is driving me home.

I had plans for yesterday afternoon that were canceled and that meant I could see Renita again! She told me she was looking for a Swing Dance. I am the person to ask about that sort of thing. Filed in my head was that Herb Gardner, Abbie's dad has a regular Wednesday night gig. I didn't know if it was every week but I checked and it was. So that's what we did. We met at Swing 46 at 7:30. That worked out perfect for me as I could walk from school

Sometimes life just works out better than you plan. Here was this plan made on short notice that meant I got to spend more time with Renita and I got to go dancing with someone I've been dancing three other times this year but this was the first time I was with someone. Those are the only times I've gone out to a partner dance. The first time was with Herb and Abbie up at Common Ground. I did get my feet wet by dancing with friends, Catherine, Abbie's sister Sarah, and Abbie when Sarah sang. Yes I am spoiled.

The other two times were seeing Tara O'Grady. Then I somehow found the nerve to dance with strange women. This was much more comfortable. Renita has been swing dancing since before I met her. She's good. I don't know what I'm doing. I don't have the steps down at all. She didn't mind at all. She even complimented me. I actually do know that I can move the music. I just can't do choreographed movements. I did feel good that she danced with other people that can actually dance too. She is great. I enjoyed watching her.

Some catchup for people who didn't read mylast entry.. Renita is a Fr�head from Vancouver BC that I met on Fr�head dot Com back in 99 or 2000. We have only met in person twice. So though we have known each other for 13 years or so we still had a lot of getting to know you to do. We did. I have to pat myself on the back. I knew that she was someone whose company I'd love and I was right. My judgment is pretty good when it comes to people.

I have never seen Herb in his natural habitat before. I've seen him with Red Molly, and that one time with a combo and Abbie. But this was the real deal. There was a small combo for the first set then his big band. I have never seen a classic jazz big band before. I love it! And these guys could play. That I fully expected.

Herb took me by surprise by saying that there was a special guest, someone from his daughter's band, Red Molly. I looked around for Laurie or Molly and wondering how that could be there as Red Molly was playing in Florida last I heard. Then he said, my name. I was the special guest. Good to know that I'm "from Red Molly." I'm asking for a cut of the royalties next album.

Herb came over and joined us during breaks. That was great. things kept getting better. I did feel a bit guilty that Renita and I spent quite a bit of time talking. I didn't apologize but I told Herb that I hadn't seen her for 12 years so he'd understand how it was.

So this was about a good an evening as I can have, friendship, music, and dancing. I just needed a better dinner. I did have babka when I got home so chocolate was taking care of.

Now I have to make breakfast, shower, and pack and head up to NERFA via Fordham. I probably won't post again till Monday. I might be able to Sunday night. We'll see if I can stay awake. I'll have a lot to say of course. It's NERFA! I'll have loads of new musical discoveries. I'll make new friends. The problem is that I know so many people there now that it's harder to spend my time meeting new people. I like my friends. So I'll play it by ear. I'm not going to keep hard and fast to the eat with strangers rule. Or maybe I will. You'll find out when I return.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 07, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!