I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 05, 2017 - 10:46 a.m.

Random Thoughts

I'm going to attempt to waste less time today and get out. I even considered not blogging. I have to go to my PO Box, I haven't been in there in ages and I have mail. Then I have to go to Stop & Shop. Travel is going to be difficult, someone committed suicide at the Parkside Station on the , the train I usually take anywhere. I have a subway app that includes social media reports. That's how I know about the suicide. I also see all the people bitching about how terrible the MTA is because of the delay. I hope they at least feel bad when they discover what happened. I feel bad. When I heard the subway, line was out I didn't blame the MTA, I went to see what was wrong. Signaling problems would have gotten me complaining about how the state underfunds the MTA. I didn't think of suicide, but it's not unheard of.

Acts of heroism on the subway are not unheard of either. On Saturday night, a homeless man was pushed onto the subway tracks and knocked unconscious. Grey Davis, a dancer with American Ballet Theater jumped on to the tracks and lifted the man onto the platform then used his ballet skills to get himself up off the tracks. That's a true hero. He risked his own life to help a stranger, a homeless man. Mr. Davis should be given the key to the City and a lifetime of free rides on the MTA. This wasn't his job. No one would have thought less of Mr. Davis if he had done nothing, like everyone else on the platform. That is the essence of heroism. This should have been a bigger story. Go read about it now, Ballet Dancer Leaps Onto Subway Tracks and Lifts Man to Safety.

I was going to go shopping yesterday but the plan involved walking to the mainland and it started to rain. I didn't leave the house until after eight when I went to get ice cream at Lickity Split. It was closed! I didn't give up. I reluctantly decided to try the frozen yogurt place; frozen yogurt is a poor substitute for ice cream. I had never been in it before. They had something they call "fried ice cream rolls." Ever hear of it? Once of the flavors was peanut butter with chocolate. I couldn't resist that. I put on a load of toppings with a common theme; mini Reese cups, brownie bits, chocolate chips, cookie dough, and chocolate sauce. I'd still prefer an ice cream cone from Lickity Split but that kept me happy.

I'm an adult so I had my dinner after my dessert. I had Buffalo chicken fillet on flatbread. The bread wasn't big enough to wrap around it so I used it as a soft taco. That worked well. I steamed corn on the cob and that came out perfect.

I just fell into some unhappy thoughts that I don't want to share. I snapped out of it by looking to see how my fantasy baseball team is doing. We spent April in last place. Now we are in fifth just half a game out of the money. We have crossed the fantasy version of playing 0.500 we have 52.5 points. When I'm feeling anxious or depressed thinking about my team helps. Thinking about the Mets makes me anxious and depressed.

I was thinking about what to have for breakfast and that reminded me to put grits on my shopping list. Stop & Shop is the only place I can get that of my usual stores. It's the reason I wanted to go Stop & Shop and I keep forgetting to put it on the list.

Sorry I'm not inspired today. Some days I don't want to handle the problems of the world. Some days I don't want to handle the problems in my head. This is one of those days. On the bright side Billie Holiday singing Night and Day just came up on Amazon Music Player shuffle of the jazz/swing jazz genre. Yeah, the name doesn't make much sense but the song does. Lady Day makes sense of the world.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 05, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!