I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 27, 2016 - 6:21 p.m.

Radio Horvendile

Today's blogging is not working out like I thought. Can I do this on the fly with the preparation I thought I'd need? Let's give it a try. There's going to be lots of music if I can get this one. If not there's going to be a lot of blank spaces.

First in an total oddity I went to meet friends for coffee two days in a row. Last night it was Dan and this afternoon it was Carolann. I wanted them for their phones. Mine is still not working. I tried to call customer service last night with Dan, they put me on hold, and never got back to me. We gave up. So today I went to meet Carolann. I used her phone. I used an automated system at Boost mobile. It said it might take a few hours to work. We parted ways. My phone still doesn't work. Nope, still not working. I tried again. I did get great company and coffee out of it. I had the S'mores Frappaccino at Starbucks last night. It's interesting, not great. Give it a try; it's good. Yes, now I'm doing Frappaccino reviews. Hey food is important to me.

I told Dan I was going to write about music radio formats and I'm a man of my word so that's what I'm going to do. A part of me says, "The ideal radio station or show would be totally free format; it would reflect whatever the DJ wanted to play at that moment. Notice radio stations don't do that. Even Public radio stations. Even Vin Scelsa who came closer to that ideal than anyone. You are not going to throw in a Beethoven in the same show you play Rhiannon Giddens. I used an example of two artists that I adore and listen to myself. The problem is I love a broad range of music. My Gentle Readers enjoy a broad range of music. The thing is that if were to listen for an extended time to a station you'd want to enjoy a good portion of what was played and even if you enjoy a broad range of music there's also a lot of music that you don't enjoy. If you're my friend you probably enjoy "Folk Music;" we'll get back to what that means later. Most of you will not share my love of Wagner. So I'm going to discuss what would be played on my hypothetical station, Radio Horvendile. This was largely inspired by the pledging pitch on Folk Alley where they went into all the things they include as folk, Traditional, Singer/Songwriter, Celtic, Bluegrass, and whatever else they said. I think of it as music from the NERFAverse. That is the core of what Radio Horvendile would play. There's be excursions out of it. Some theater music would work its way in as well as jazz, and even shorter classical pieces. But that won't be the regular fair. Still what's left is broad and what I'm going to do now is play you some songs from the many subgenres and artists that defy genre, that would be included. It's a diverse world I am going to just run through the music on my computer show you the different directions this can go.

British Isles Traditional Folk:

Singer/Songwriter

Harmony Americana

Instrumental Chamber Folk

Celtic

Whatever it is that Charlie Parr does.

Historical Comedy

Pop-Rock-Folk

Americana

Ladino

Vocal Chamber Folk

Folk Jazz

Traditional sounding Ballad

Klezmer

Chaos Folk

Modern Ballad

Symphonic Folk

Folk Opera

Country Folk

Jazzified Country

Stringband/singer-songwriter

Particle Physics Folk

Western Swing?

African American Folk

Lyric Poetry

New Orleans Irish

Sicilian American

Cape Bretton Fiddling

There is so much more. I've just scratched the surface. You'll notice how many of my super favorites aren't on the list.

This is a pretty broad genre and I don't think anyone would complain if I threw in songs from Hamilton even though it's far afield. You have to pick your spots when going off-format.

I made a playlist with all these videos on it. Let me make sure they are all really here. .

Radio Horvendile Playlist

Now I'm off to a musical doubleheader.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 27, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!