I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2001-12-02 - 12:44 p.m.

Why the sea is boiling hot and whether radiant pigs have wings?

Dateline Baltimore: The last thing I wrote about was making my sister her birthday card. I had all sorts of problem with my printer so I didn't get to bed till after 2AM. I had to get up 8 the next morning. Good thing I had an easy day on Saturday. All I had to do was visit my father and drive down to Baltimore. Things actually worked out fine. I planned on seeing my father for about an hour then heading south. I proved I was a true Nash. Parking at the hospital costs $2 for one hour and $4 between one and two hours. I made sure to be out in less than an hour. Unlike everyone else in my family I was a totally anal about it. I was in the lot for 58' 30". My father seemed stronger than he did the last few days. He isn't happy about the dialysis but I think he's getting used to the idea. We ordered his TV turned on and I called my mother to bring a radio so he could listen to the Knick game. I'm glad he's taking an interest in things.

I went straight from the hospital to Carey's house. I haven't driven down there on a Saturday morning in a long time. I forgot how easy it is to travel then. I made great time. When I got there we did our usual exchange of hugs and presents. We both really needed this time together. We only stayed in the apartment a short time before we were off for our day in Fells Point, aka the cool part of town. The Christmas decorations were up. We saw someone dressed as Santa and we were in t-shirts without jackets. Not your usual December weather. We just walked around the area looking for fun stores to play in. We checked out several vintage clothing stores filled with Maura clothes and other fun things. For some reason Carey wouldn't try on any of the items I thought she'd look good in. She must have some religious objection to see through clothes.

Carey said she wasn't hungry but we passed a homemade ice cream parlor. I couldn't resist it. I asked her if she wanted some and she pointed out that she never says no to ice cream. It was called Maggie Moo; their logo is a cow. I kept thinking of EFO's classic "Cow Album" that the uninitiated call Looking Out The Fishbowl.

After eating our scrumptious cones we went down to look at the water. A Santa and some angels drove by in a carriage throwing candy canes to people. We didn't get any so we chased after them till they threw some at us.

We found some cool toy stores where Carey relived her youth, (last year) and I just had fun playing. There were also lots of fun neurostores that sold all sorts of weird items. We searched for a place to eat dinner and decided that the BOP, Brick Oven Pizza place looked best. One thing, shouldn't the oven in a place that makes brick oven pizza be made of brick? No matter the pizza was good and the 12-year-old boys were checking Carey out.

We then drove to the venue for the concert. Months ago Carey saw Radiant Pig and knew that it was a group that I had to see. They were playing with the Diana Froley 3. They were both totally neuro and both great. We both kept thinking that Oliver has to meet these guys, high praise indeed. Carey was happy that I loved Radiant Pig's parasite song, which she guessed I'd love the first time she saw them. Diana Froley had a number song that made me happy too. They are both going to play at the first neuromusic festival.

During Radiant Pig's set Liz, the lead singer, asked if anyone had a kazoo, just what Carey and I have always waited for. I whipped mine right out but Carey's was buried at the bottom of her bag. She would have preferred a metal one; they have a warmer tone than our plastic ones. None was to be had so she played mine. See it always pays to carry toys with you. Speaking of toys the drummer for the Diana Froley 3 had more toys than we did. He should play with Batnose.

After the show we went to the Paper Moon Diner, which like all well-appointed diner has a pez collection. After triple chocolate mousse cake and pierogies that couldn't be beat we made our way home. By this time we had just enough strength left to give Neal a goodnight call and go to bed. Neal gets disappointed if I don't call him every night. Carey talked to him too, I think.

OK now for a day of shopping at Ollie's, putting up Christmas lights, and driving back to New York. My emotionally batteries are recharged.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2001-12-02
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!