I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 31, 2012 - 12:00 a.m.

Weird Tales and the Great Apartment Hunt

I almost forgot to update today. I'm glad I remembered. My Gentle Readers might not need Wise Madness but I do.

What do you want to hear about first, adventures in apartment hunting or music? I could just tell things in chronological order. I'm going to have to make actual decisions.

Let's start with music and comedy, yes I said comedy. I went to the Lowbrow Reader Variety Hour at the Housing Works Bookstore. Because of apartment hunting I missed all the parts about the Lowbrow Reader. It's a book, thus the bookstore. You can read about it here, The Lowbrow Reader.

Of course that wasn't what brought me there. Here is the music and comedy lineup: musical sets by Adam Green and Supercute!, comedy from Wyatt Cenac, and a special appearance by Professor Irwin Corey, the world's foremost authority. Who knows me well enough to know which act sent me the invitation? You in the back, what's your answer? Supercute is correct. OK it might have been Rachel and or Julia as individuals but you know what I mean. The other act that excited me was Professor Irwin Corey. I don't remember not known Corey. He was ubiquitous on TV when I was a kid and I loved him. The thing is he wasn't a kid then. How old is he now? The answer I came up with is "old." I figured he was about 45 to 50 back in 1965 when I was 8. That would make him in his mid to late nineties now. I looked it up. He'll be 98 this summer. Rachel is 18, I think Julia is 16. The age differential between Julia and Irwin is 82 years. I'm willing to be none of my Gentle Readers has been to a show with a bigger one.

It's hard to describe what Corey does. I know I'll show you. This is from the Smother's Brothers TV show. I'm sure I watched it at the time.

He can still make me laugh. He can still make me look like a Republican. He's a bit left of left of left of center. He's still a genius.

The name didn't click when I saw it in print but as soon as I saw Wyatt Cenac I knew him from the Daily Show. He's funny too. Comedy is difficult. It isn't many times I'll see two people that can make me laugh.

Supercute can of course always make me smile and laugh. It's pretty hard for me to not be happy when they perform. They are having fun and they make the audience feel they should be joining in. And of course they are supercute. I didn't take pictures so I can't show you any. They didn't have their usual lineup, Olivia wasn't there so I can't use one of the photos from their website. But there is one on Rachel's facebook and I'll assume she won't mind me using it.


Julia Cumming, Rachel Trachtenburg, and Jacqueline Russo

Do you know what the drum that Jacqueline is sitting on is called? It's a cajon, it means box.

So who's left? Adam Green. Some of you will know him from the Moldy Peaches. He might have been the least weird one performing. That's saying something. He's weird. That's all weird in a good way of course. Most weird is weird in a good way.

I was very good after the show and actually made a pretty quick getaway. I had to work on apartment hunting. That meant foregoing saying hi to Rachel and Julia and the hugs that come with it, saying hi to Rachel's parents Jason and Tina and wishing Tina a happy birthday, and introducing myself to Professor Corey a childhood hero. So you know the hunt is important. I need a roof over my head.

Yesterday's hunt started with a disappointment. I went to see the place I had my heart set on I discovered it had already been taken and the guy that placed the ad didn't call to let me know. I thought he knew that he screwed up so I didn't push it to make him feel more guilty. Good thing I was coming from around the corner, not hours away. This morning I got a text from the other place I wanted most to tell me that it too was taken. The place I did get to see was no good. Even if the place was great I'd have been dubious about taking it. I was late getting there because I got caught up on the phone talking to my friend with brain cancer. I think that's a good excuse. When I got there the person who was supposed to show me the place was just getting there. He didn't even know I was going to be there. I had talked to someone else who was supposed to tell him and didn't.

I saw two places today and they both went much better. In both places I'll be sharing the apartment. I thought the first person was a sour business woman and I was not thrilled with that. I'm a bit of a hippie in case you hadn't noticed. I was wrong. She is in show business, aerialist! She was not dour, she has a big open smile. That was such a relief. She's great and the apartment was fine and I said I'd take it. Now she has to think that I'm great or at least fine or at least better than the other candidates. It's like asking someone to the prom. Maybe my platypus sexiness will do it for me.

The second place I went to was in a great neighborhood though a bit inconvenient in terms of subway. The price is right and I love the architecture and I'll take that if I don't get the first place. I have emergency plans and that I don't want to have to fall back on.

I was going to go out tonight to see Laura Dunn but was too tired. Not physically tired but emotionally. I needed to just relax, watch TV, and write. Later it's back to the great apartment hunt.

I have a backlog of things I've been thinking about that I have to eventually get to. I hope I remember some of them.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 31, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!