I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 02, 2014 - 11:35 a.m.

Not as Lovely as a Tree

Yesterday Heather asked me to help her with something. That meant getting to her house. Not usually a difficult thing, I take the bus almost directly from door to door. But yesterday was Labor Day and that means the West Indian Day parade down Eastern Parkway. That's two blocks from my house and the bus crosses the route so obviously that wasn't happening. So I decided to try the subway, the to Atlantic Terminal, then walk a few blocks to the . I think that can be faster under the right circumstances.

I figured I'd look a bit at the parade. Couldn't get much of view and not much seemed to be happening. there were people walking down Eastern Parkway and there was music. Odd thing, there was music in the parade but people along the parade route felt the need to blast their music so you heard a cacophony. I took a few pictures. These are actually of people in the crowd.


Walking down Utica Ave to the parade.


The Parade Route

After I helped Heather with the computer stuff she asked me if I'd go shoe shopping with her. I said yes. I found the shoes she actually bought. I suggested one of the stores she bought them in. I don't have a girlfriend yet am somehow the best boyfriend ever. My talents are totally going to waste.

I got some more pics from the showstore, either DSW or Burlington Coat Factory. They are in the same building and overlook Union Square.

The square is clearly a giant circuit board. I think it's a time space machine, a doorless TARDIS. Doorless TARDIS is the name of my Pink Floyd tribute band.

Then we went to the Strand to replace the copy of Lord of the Rings I ruined in the oven. What you haven't heard about that? Well go read it now in my last entry. Like you never put a book in the oven.

And that reminds me I forgot to tell you another idiot story from the day before. Heather gave me a chocolate bar. I was distracted and put it in my pocket. Hours later there was chocolate on my phone. I didn't know where it came from, I cleaned it off. When I went to dinner there was chocolate on my phone again. This time I remembered the chocolate bar. Yes my body heat had melted it. I cleaned off the phone and my keys and put them back in my pocket. A little later I took out my phone. There was chocolate on it. I had missed some of the melted chocolate I my pocket the first time. Have I mentioned that I'm an idiot?

We went back to Heather's and had dinner. chili and mashed potatoes. I mix them up together. Selling that is my next way of becoming a zillionaire. I'm clearly going to be a multi-zillionaire as I'm a genius. Also an idiot. Things aren't simple.

On the way home I went to Pathmark to pick up essentials, Taylor Ham, bacon, and sausages. Notice a theme there? But that's not my point. My point is this picture I took at the Barkley's center before I went in the subway.

That light in the ring is the moon shining through.

Funny I did a lot yesterday but there wasn't much to write about so I get to write about writing. The sagacious and shining Sharon Goldman has a blog, Songwriting Scene. That's inspiring me to write about writing. Now I could write Blogging Scene, something I actually know about but I'm not. I'm going to write about writing poetry.

I have written quite a few poems. I wrote poem day for a month. Some of my poems aren't bad. But I'm not a natural poet. I am a natural blogger. I know everyone can't do it. I know perhaps most people can't do it. But I don't even think about it. I can come up with a blog every single day and have for 14 years without breaking a sweat. Poetry I have to work on more. Funny as songs will just come to me from the aether. I would never attempt to write a sonnet, I just can't feel iambic pentameter. The only form I can do instinctively is a limerick. I was just reading about sonnets and realized maybe I could do it as they are made up of quatrains. One of the things I planned on saying is that it takes me an effort to write anything that isn't a quatrain. That's my instinctive form. I prefer to not rhyme but often find myself writing in a ABCB rhyme scheme.

So what brought this all on is that I recently wrote an acrostic, my specialty. That's a poem where the first letter of each line spells out something. I knew what I wanted to spell out. it had nine letters. So how did I write it? Two quatrains with a one line volta in the middle. I just learned the word volta in the Wikipedia article on sonnets. It means turn.

When I started it was going to not rhyme but be alliterative. I love alliteration. I use it here all the time as in "sagacious, shining Sharon." But when I wrote the first quatrain I found that without trying to the second and fourth lines rhymed. So then I wanted to keep the rhyme scheme but didn't know what to do with the volta. Actually at first it wasn't a volta. I was thinking of making it a quatrain followed by a couplet followed by whatever you call a three line stanza. I kept working on it. It took days. I finally finished and there's a perfect word to describe it. Crap. Oh and I had a deadline. I wanted it finished the next day. And then came the part that I felt was worth writing about here. I knew I didn't want to rhyme at the start. I rewrote the entire poem keeping just the first two lines and abandoning the rhymes. And now the poem wrote itself. But all the days working on it were not wasted. What I effectively did was translate that crap poem into a nonrhyming form that said exactly the same thing. Initially the poem had three molds to fit into, acrostic, alliteration, and rhyme. That forced me to be figure out exactly what I wanted to say. When I abandoned rhyme, I could then say it the way I wanted to. I'm not saying the poem is great. I'm not saying it's even good. But it's not crap.

Sorry after all that build up I'm not going to show it to you. I'm writing about the process, not the poem.

I'm going to go out on limb. That poem took days to write as it wasn't in my natural form. Let's see if I can write a quatrain off the top of my head.

Writing poems isn't so hard,
It doesn't even have to rhyme.
All it takes is thoughtful touch
It's easy if you have the time.
I didn't say it would be good. There's a reason I don't like rhyme. It's too easy to be trite and too hard to not sound forced. That's the mistake most high school students make when they are assigned to write a poem. Hey I'm going to write a bad student's poem now.
The teacher's making me write a poem.
That is why I'm now at home.
I do my hair with a brush and comb.
I think I'm going to move to Nome.
I just realized that my natural tome template is that most trite of all poems
Roses are red.
Violets are blue.
Sugar is sweet,
And so are you.
I might never write a poem again.

But I will make breakfast. I should do something with the sausages I bought. poached eggs on sausage it is. I'll thrown in some cheese too.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 02, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!