I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 06, 2012 - 12:25 a.m.

Play Like A Girl

A week after Falcon Ridge I'm ready to write about other things. I have a slew of thoughts to write about but that will have to wait as I did things yesterday that need documenting. The irony is that it mainly involved people that I spent time with at Falcon Ridge. It was in a sense a reunion.

I use the phrase "my people" to many things, math geeks, obsessive music lovers, Jews, Irish (I�m not Irish), People from Queens, people from Brooklyn, people who can't sing, Met fans, � , and the Chicks with Dip. Last night I trekked to Metuchen NJ to hear them do Play Like A Girl: Simon & Garfunkel Reimagined. This was an unusual show for me. I lost my ability to learn lyrics around 1980 I think my brain filled up and there just wasn't room for any more. I listen to so much music but I can't even sing King of Spain as Carey can attest. But, the first album in my collection was Simon and Garfunkel's Greatest Hits. Nine of the twelve songs they performed were on that album. I might have known the lyrics better than they did. Here was the lineup:

  1. America � Catherine Miles/Carolann Solebello
  2. A Hazy Shade of Winter - Sharon Goldman/Meg Braun/Carolann Solebello
  3. The Boxer - Meg Braun/Elisa Peimer/Alison Scola
  4. April Come She Will � Honor Finnegan
  5. Cecillia � Victoria Lavington/Elisa Peimer/Allison Scola
  6. Bridge of Troubled Water � Anna Dagmar
  7. The Sound of Silence � Meg Braun/Catherine Miles
  8. Scarborough Fair/Canticle � Allison Tartalia/Kirsten Williams
  9. The Only Living Boy in New York � Sharon Goldman and the chick choir
  10. Homeward Bound � Catherine Miles/Allison Tartalia
  11. Kathy's Song � Victoria Lavington/Anna Dagmar and special guest Rivkah Fischman

I had several possible rides to the show but it ended up easiest to take the New Jersey Transit Train. I was going to eat Paul there for dinner at an Irish Pub but he got stuck in traffic. I called Gene & Isabel and they were 5 minutes away at that point and they ended up joining me. Who knows what I order at Irish pubs? Yes it was bangers and mash. But here's the thing. There was an appetizer offered that many of you will be disappointed in me for not ordering, Fried Guinness Battered bacon. Have I lost the respect of my bacon friends? Please forgive me.

Gene & Isabel gave me a ride from the pub. We had some trouble finding the school the show was at; it was much smaller than we were expecting. When we got there Fred was waiting outside. I went in to check on the merch. Did I need to mention that I was doing the merch?

The show had the feeling of an extension of Falcon Ridge. So many of my friends were there that were also at the festival; Catherine, Jay and Paul aka The YaYas, Carolann, Meg, Honor, Gene, Isabel, Paul from the Budgiedome, and Pat Wictor. I bet I'm missing some too. These were all people that I didn't just see at FRFF, they are people I spent quality time with.

As for the show it was great. The songs are classic and the chicks rock like Slayer used to (the jokes aren't always for you) so how could it be otherwise. If the music weren't great I'd still have a fun hanging out with the Chicks and Roosters.

I didn't take the railroad home. Carolann lives near me and offered me a ride. We got out of the venue around midnight but didn't go straight home. We talked to Catherine and Jay in the parking lot and ended up doing one of my favorite things, going to a diner after a concert. It's like hot dogs at a ballgame, it just makes it better. The fact that it was ridiculously late just adds to the experience. I have no idea what time we got out of the diner but I got home after 3 AM.

Today I went back to being catatonic. It's how I've spent most of the week, unable to do anything. It has not been a good week. I finally made it out of the house in the evening. I had to buy a few things at the supermarket. I times things perfectly. As I was walking it started to rain. I brought an umbrella. That didn't help. It went from a dead calm to a tempest in seconds. My umbrella was destroyed as soon as I opened it. The entire frame broke apart. The rainlet up while I was in the supermarket so I only got a little wet on the way home.

My next entry I'll try and collect some of the thoughts I've had the last week. Now I'm going to watch the Olympics and the Curiosity land on Mars.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 06, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!