I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 24, 2017 - 11:57 a.m.

Horvendile the Photographer and Graphic Artist

Do I have anything to write? I stayed home yesterday; that always makes things tougher. On the days, I go out I always think of brilliant things to write about but can't because I want to write about what I did.

I did do things yesterday, it was work in my pjs from home day. I created the event for the next John Platt's On Your Radar, OYR with Riley Etheridge, Gabrielle Louise, and Jacob Johnson. The only one I am familiar with is Jacob Johnson and he's great. I know him from NERFA. I don't know why but it took me far longer than usual to set the event up. It took me an hour to just download "the assets," that's what they call the photos, music files, and bios now. Then I put the photos in the wrong folder. I tracked them down and moved them … to another wrong folder. This time I couldn't find them so I just downloaded them from the emails again. That is not the idiot story of the day. I'm giving you something to look forward to.

Nobody makes me do it, nobody even asked me to do it, but I decided that On Your Radar needs branding including an easily recognizable logo. This is what I came up with.

Like the opening of the Simpsons it changes every time. The middle square has a picture of John and the three artists performing that month. That means I must make a new collage every month. Why do I do it? I take pride in my work. I want the page to sell, I want to induce people to go to the shows. That includes you. Go.

My next project was one I had to overcome anxiety to do; edit my pics from Falcon Ridge 2012. Yeah, I know. That had been sitting on the card in my camera since the festival. A few days ago, I downloaded them onto my computer. Yesterday I edited them. They were all from the emerging artist showcase and only some of the performers. I got Honor Finnegan, Heather Maloney, The YaYas, Rebecca Pronsky, and Burning Bridget Cleary. I also got some great shots of the sign language interpreter Jody Prysock, and the people backstage. Here's a link to the album Falcon Ridge 2012.

The reason I stopped taking pictures after the Emerging Artists is that the camera was new and I couldn't figure out how to change the white balance so that the pictures at night were usable I took quite a few. I decided that I'd only take pictures during the day and then just gave up taking pictures. That was a tough time for me. Anxiety hit and I found it too difficult to ever download the pictures or use the camera again till last week. When I put the card in the reader I transferred them all to a file on my computer then put them in separate albums, Tomoko at Cell, On Your Radar, and Falcon Ridge. I then deleted everything on the card. I forgot that the original reason I installed Picasa was to take care of the downloading pictures from my camera. It will do download then delete everything on the card. No big deal. I deleted by hand. Big deal. When I did the original download I somehow managed to miss all the pictures from Falcon Ridge after the emerging artists. Now they are gone forever. That's the big idiot story. Thinking about it now, maybe that's not what I did. Maybe I deleted them all as I took them and they didn't come out. I'm going to tell myself that. I'll feel better.

I still have to edit the pictures from On Your Radar. There are also hundreds of pictures I took with my phone I never got around to editing.

The entire impetus for taking the camera out of mothballs was photographing Tomoko's show. I dropboxed them to her. She wrote back that she could only see one of them. I looked. I put only one in the folder. It isn't easy to be an idiot.

It is a beautiful day. I should go outside and enjoy it. Maybe I'll take my camera. My camera is built for sharing via Wi-Fi. I should see if I can set that up. Then I'll be able to upload pictures directly to Instagram and Facebook.

Most importantly I must make a challenging phone call That is going to require meditation which will cut into my walking time. Maybe having breakfast will work as well. I'm thinking grits but I'll have to find the missing pot lid if I do that. Nicholas the sprite that lives in the house stole it. He steals lots of things, a classic English folklore fairy. Hey I didn't name him, that was Jane. There must be some explanation of where things disappear to. We are also missing 6 forks. I'm missing a hat and jacket. He occasionally returns things. Sometimes those aren't ours. Just not your head and smile. It will be easier.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 24, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!