I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 16, 2014 - 12:26 p.m.

Patty Cake Pies

On Sundays I like to finish writing this before John Platt's Sunday Breakfast is over. Today I'm starting just as it finished. Notice how often I start by saying how I'm starting later than I'd like? I have pancakes waiting for me. That's an incentive to write quickly.

And I'll start with pancakes. That's what I had for breakfast yesterday. I used my new batter bowl and Trader Joe's pancake mix. I haven't made them in literally years but I'm as good at it as ever. I have the assembly line down to a science. One batch is enough for four people. I eat it over two days. Hey I like my own cooking. Today is the second day, That's why the pancakes are waiting for me. Yesterday I had sausage. Today I might go for bacon.

Last night I went to see this.


That saved me a lot of typing. If you look at the names of the performers they are all friends of mine. As I told Brad I think I've seen each of them at least five times. the combined total might be near 100. Actually I might have seen Carolann Solebello that many times. This at Rockwood is a home game.

I didn't time things great and just had time for a slice of pizza before the show. But as I had a so many pancakes for breakfast that was OK. Sorry these were really good pancakes. They deserve the word count.

I was of course one of the first people there. I took my seat and not long later was joined by Gene & Isabel and then we were all joined by John. Elaine's fianc� Chris. sat at the table behind me. Did I get his name right All of a sudden I'm not secure about it. I'm impressed he remembered me. We couldn't figure out where we met. I knew it was outdoors and we both knew we didn't just meet but had a lengthy conversation. As we were leaving Miah's wife Pam said something to him about their wedding and it clicked. That's where we met, Miah and Pam's wedding.

Brad was the emcee and the impresario

Before the tribute there was an opening act, an old friend of Brad's from Chicago. As I pointed out yesterday I can't remember names of people if I don't see them in print. But this is what he looks like.

Then came the tribute. I'm never sure how I feel about Patty Griffin. I've seen her a number of times and she has some songs I love. But I'm not sure I really do love her. I can't think of anyone else as much on the bubble as her. She's certainly one of the greats. But I'm not sure if she's one of my greats. She was the object of one the great musical descriptions I've heard. "Her voice breaks at all the right places." That's not in print. Some listener wrote that into WfUV and Rita read it. That was back in the 90s. I could get away just stealing the line. See how honest I am?

The alluring Elaine was on first. She's getting married in a month and as a wedding present I'm going to cease calling her my stalker. Of course she's not married yet so I can still say that. Why is anyone my friend?

Now don't expect me to remember who played what. I realize now that I only remember who did Making Pies and that's because there's a connection to the performer.Hey the only reason I know the running order is the pictures. Carolann backed up Elaine on bass.


A rare onstage picture of Carolann wearing glasses.

Brilliant Brad was up next. He was backed by Carolann and Miah.

Miah stood in the one spot with good light on the stage so I could get a color picture.

The captivating Carolann followed. Brad backed her on djembe.

For her second song She was joined by the rest of the No Fuss and Feathers roadshow.


Carolann with Jay Mafale and Karyn Oliver


Catherine Miles

Next on the bill was the enticing Honor.

I knew I knew her guitar player but couldn't place him. I was sure I hadn't seen him with honor before. But I placed him as soon as the next singer came on.

That was the sultry Sloan and the guitar player was her regular accompanist for as long as I've known her, Stevie. I just needed to see him in context. Sloan is the one that sang "Making Pies." She introduced it by saying that used to own a bakery. I knew she did and that's why I remember who sang it.

Finishing off the evening was the magnificent Miah. OK as that's not how he's billed on the poster I should point out that it's short for Jeremiah.

I was not sure if I was going to this show but I'm glad I did. It was great music performed by my people and with my people in the audience.

I wanted to talk to them more after the show but we had to go to the backroom of Rockwood which was so crowded and noisy that I could only find a place to talk to Miah, Pam, and Brad. We actually talked about how we didn't want to move as we had our little quiet spot with each other.

Everyone including me complains about the light at Rockwood 3 especially for photography but even with must my phone I can get decent pictures. I'd like to see what I could do with a wide lens. You just have to use black & white for most of the pictures. Here's the link to the rest of the pictures. There are some good ones.

Patty Griffin Tribute

After the show I headed home and finished setting up the Facebook event for the next John Platt's On Your Radar with Hannah & Maggie, Krista Detor, and Sam Baker. I'm not that familiar with the first two but Sam you don't want to miss. He's special.

I always forget how long it takes me set up the events even though I have it down to a routine now. When the music files are the wrong type or too large I convert them. I find ways to get pictures in the right aspect ratio. And I invite the right people. If you don't get invites to On Your Radar from me and you'd like to join the On Your Radar Group or just let me know and I'll put you on my list.

OK it's well after noon and pancakes are calling my name.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 16, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!