I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 07, 2013 - 11:23 a.m.

Free Parkington

It is Friday so I'm updating from Kos Kaffe. I forgot my earbuds so I can't listen to music while I write this.

I have to move again ASAP, I mean yesterday ASAP. I think I have crash space for two weeks but I want more and that isn�t; for sure. So If you know someplace in the City, by a subway or even Jersey by the PATH let me know. If you have a spare bedroom and I could crash with you that's would help too. Thanks.

OK Now back to making believe that everything is fine and write about yesterday. Like hobbits I can sit on the edge of ruin and eat.

Yesterday I did my usual race to school to get my mail. The post office closes at 5:30. I got there at 5:27. The woman at the door wouldn't let me in, I always go in right before they close and this never happened. I once got there at 5:32 and he let me in if I promised to not get on the line and just go to my box. I wrote to the USPS and complained. I then wrote another letter complimenting the lovely woman that helped me when I mailed the package to Jessica. I said she was not only helpful but charming. It made the experience pleasant, That's exactly what she did. People make a huge difference,

Where is my coffee? He forgot to make it, My usual barista isn�t here. Like I said people make a huge difference.

Last night I went to see the The Parkington Sisters at Rockwood Music Hall. I am now in the habit of seeing all their Rockwood gigs. No one I know is ever there. I don't hear my friends talk about them. Why are they not in my musical circles? They should be? After I checked in both Jen and Katherine said they'd have liked to have been there. So guess next time I might have company. But that's not my point, My point �

I got comped on the coffee. That's good business. He acknowledged his mistake apologized, and clearly felt bad about it, People make a huge difference, Mr. Kos, give the guy a raise

Now I have caffeine my writing should get better.

� My point is that you should not only know the Parkington sisters you should be talking about them. They should be part of your musical world,

So funny thing about Jen and Katherine being the only ones to comment on the picture of them; Bobtown is one of the bands they got me thinking about. Yes it's partly because it's cute women playing traditional sounding music and the one with "the hair" standing up and playing the drums. But it's more about sensibilities. They have the same idea about what works good though they achieve the goal differently. Their approach is closer to The Amigos. They are all conservatory trained musicians playing music you don't associate with conservatories and having a lot of fun doing it.

The Parkingtons play traditional music but then range into something that is almost neuromusic but played on strings, percussion, and piano. It has that European feel while they look and often sound Americana. They are guided by their inner muse not a concept of what they are supposed to be. Do I need to tell you that I love that approach.

I got there early and sat in the Statler and Waldorf seats. This is what it looks like from there,

I would have liked to have talked to them after the show but they were busy clearing the stage so all I got was a quick hello from Nora.

Then I tried someplace new for dinner, George BBQ, it's across from the back entrance of Rockwood. I had the BBQ chicken with hushpuppies and fries. There was so much food I couldn't finish. That never happens. I shouldn't have had that pretzel before the show.

Back to personal things for a second. LORi called me last night and that helped tremendously. The way I put it was that I needed someone to cry to. I did and then she got me distracted and relaxed enough that I can sleep, So relaxed that somehow my glasses ended up on the floor and I might have stepped on them. They were bent out of shape. I bent them back. I see better now, how weird is that? It's a strange and beautiful world even when times are hard.

Just time to post this before I have to go pick up Celebrian.

I was wrong, I am posting this from home.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 07, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!