I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 14, 2013 - 12:31 p.m.

Radar Love

I didn't get enough sleep but I'm going to write anyway because I so love My Gentle Readers. And do you ever call? That's OK I'll just sit in the dark.

I'm listening to the WfUV Question of the Day and as so often happens people ask for the songs that were hits when they were in high school and college. I hate when I talk to newer fans of the station and they say "It's just like WNEW used to be." I don't want my favorite public station to be like old commercial radio. I started listening because it wasn't like WNEW.

Know what is like the WFUV I love? Anything John Platt does. It was the second Tuesday of the month so I was John Platt's On Your Radar. But I'm getting ahead of myself for the sake a segue and skipping important things.

I have been trying to buy Fox's U-Bet to make egg creams for weeks with no success. Yesterday I walked to Kingston Ave the heart of Crown Heights' Hassidic community in search of the chocolate elixir. I figured it had to be there. I went to the suprette, and they didn't have it. I was crushed. Where can I get U-Bet in Brooklyn? For the love of god it's made here. It should not be so difficult. I have a lot more to say about U-Bet but that's going to be a separate entry. It's of such import it can't share the spotlight. LORi is quaking in her boots.

I headed from the suprette to Rockwood Music Hall. It was a nice day so I walked to the next express stop. I don't walk this neighborhood enough. When I got to Rockwood I found the losers my friends waiting outside. The Lineup for the night was Clarence Bucaro, Goodnight Moonshine, and Tara O'Grady. I cannot hear her name and not think of Bugs Bunny doing a soft shoe and singing "I'm the daughter of Rosie O'Grady � "

All my usual tablemates weren�t there. Joe had surgery and LORi not Lori was with him and that might be why Rona & Bob weren't there too. Fred had to work and Katherine's in Iowa. That did leave room for Damon to join me. And of course I had other friends there, the losersRichard and Viki, and Dan, Kay, Paul, Hesch, Oh wait Hesch is one of the loser, and wait is that it? Was so much of the usual crowd not there? Welcome to August in New York. We were joined later by Anthony and Pete showed up later. Anthony had lost his guitar pick at the Budgiedome and I returned it. I'm so proud of myself for not losing or forgetting it. It's an expensive guitar pick. Yes they exist.

Clarence got on my good side before the show, He lives in Brooklyn and was wearing a Bob Marley shirt. If you really want to get on my good side give me chocolate. Give me enough chocolate and I'll say you are better than Beethoven. Clarence is the kind of guy that goes to New Orleans to record an album of songs about New York. There's a definite Nawlins feel to the music.

Goodnight Moonshine is the duo of Eben Pariser and Molly Venter. You probably and I certainly know them from Roosevelt Dime and Red Molly respectively. In other words these are my friends. That were both just at the Budgiedome. For the most part they sound like neither of their bands. That's a good thing even though I love both their bands. If they sounded the same what would be the point? I have to be careful, I can't be too nice. They told the story about how they met at Folk Alliance. Eben said he was handing out chocolate because that's what he does. He NEVER gave me chocolate. And I have still written good things about Roosevelt Dime and Goodnight Moonshine. I'm too soft. I'm getting tough now. I'll just post a terrific song of theirs and let you just for yourself.

Oh and was it just me or did they have a Steve and Eydie thing going? They are so young they probably never even saw Steve and Eydie.

Tara O'Grady was a revelation. I had never heard of her till Sunday when she was on John's show. Where was she hiding? She's from Whitestone which is right next to Bayside where I grew up. She's my peep! All the best people are from Northeast Queens. It's a proven fact. She spent her summers growing up in Ireland. She plays traditional Irish music, but that's not all she plays. She has an album Black Irish, she is typical black Irish, black hair, pale skin, and blue eyes. But the name has a double meaning, She sounds like Billie Holiday and her music is infused with American jazz. She comes from a similar place as Madeleine Peyroux and you know how much I love Madeleine Peyroux. Her new album shows the dual sources of her music too, A Celt in the Cotton Club I compared her to Billie and Madeleine but there is really nothing like her. It's not often that I become an instant huge fan of someone but this was one of the nights. I was going to post a picture and tell you a story but I don�t have to. Someone sitting or standing behind me took a video. You'll see the back of my bald head and getting excited at Queens and Donovan's,

The guitar player that John referred to is Justin Poindexter of The Amigos Band fame. No Carey you can't take him home.

So are you as enraptured as I am with her? If not you should have your hearing checked. I felt so bad that Lori had to miss a coffee song.

After the show I went to introduce myself but she was standing with Justin so I said, "Aren't you going to introduce me to the cute girl?" Here are the rules, give me chocolate and introduce me to cute girls or you'll face my wrath. I keep it grapes.

Pete was there because he had met Tara at the WFUV gala. He gave her CD a listen and as his hearing doesn�t need checking loved her. Maura would have been there too but she was with a friend visiting form the UK.

After the show I hung out with Jeremy. I knew I was leaving people out when I listed my friends. he was in the back corner, what I all he telephone booth. I remember people by mentally scanning the room but it's hard to see there and I didn't notice him till one of the intermissions when I stood up and walked around. I've known Jeremy since he as a student engineer at Fordham.

I went to Georgia's BBQ for dinner. I'm becoming a regular. I can never finish my meals there so this time I got an order of wings and a bowl of mashed potatoes. The wings are like the grilled wings I used to make, high praise indeed. The potatoes were perfect. I love that place.

When I walked down the block on the way to a subway I saw someone waving at me from inside another restaurant Taqueria. It was Carly. I've known Carly longer than I've known Jeremy. Her mother is a good friend and long time volunteer at FUV. Carly was my assistant supervisor when she was, what was it 10? 12? Later she went to Fordham and worked at the station. Now she's a grad. Yet I'm the same age as I was then. I don't know how that happened. I was already in a great mood from the show and then the food but it still brightens my day when I meet a friend on the street and I see a smile on their face when they see me and Carly has a great smile.

It's a glorious day today. I have to get outside. I want to check my mailbox so I think I'll take a walk in Central Park.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 14, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!