I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 09, 2014 - 1:22 p.m.

Reflected Microwaves

I did things I want to write about but sometimes the reflections demand to be heard. This is short. I love to write A friend just asked me to write how I'd describe her if she were a character in a book. I treated it as a character description in a play. I enjoyed the challenge I know her so well and had to boil it down to a few sentences. What is essential?

Now it's time to play, "How was your day?" Picture Edith Bunker saying it to Archie. Last night was a musical doubleheader, Rockwood Music Hall Stage 2 then Stage 3. Pop quiz. Don't tell me you didn't study. You are supposed to know this stuff. It was the second Tuesday of the month; what do I always do then. My Gentle Readers should all know this. Yes you got it. I was at John Platt's On Your Radar. This months the guests were Rachel Ries, Roger Street Friedman, and The Sea The Sea. I know Rachel and I know the Sea the Sea very well but I had never seen Roger before. I knew I'd be in for two treats and will always trust John's taste.

Part of the fun of On Your Radar seeing my friends. Lori not LORi wasn't there because she hates me but I sat with Fred, Richard and Viki, and Kathryn. Is that what I'm calling her here? My therapist can't see the spelling when I'm talking so there I say Kay to avoid confusion with Katherine and Catherine. My life is so hard

An advantage of shows at Rockwood in the summer is that the sun is still shining so there's light on the stage. That let me get good pics of The Sea the Sea who were on first.


Mira Stanley & Chuck Costa

I Kvel over them. I saw Chuck and Mira sing together before they were The Sea The Sea. I now claim them as my own. Have I run out of things to say about them? In case you didn't read the other dozen times I wrote about them their voices blend better than any two people I know. And the thing is that's not what makes their harmonies special. It's what they do with them. They don't say, "we sound beautiful, that's enough." They use the harmony as a means of expression. It's as integral as the lyrics or melody. The lyrics are pure poetry.

During the first break I did something unusual. I stayed in my seat and caught up with Kathryn. I usually circulate more. She arrived later and we didn�t have much tiem to talk before the show.

I didn't know Roger Street Friedman but I had seen and loved his nieces Ari and Mia Friedman at NERFA. Not that it gave any clue as to what he does. They are a string duo. He has a big band, horns and everything. Too big to get a good pic of them.


John interviewing Roger

It's easy to describe Roger's music, fun! It's great party music. I'd love to hear them cover Louie Louie. Such great energy and I'm a suck for bands with horns.. They are not folk in the least. I'm glad he knows to not fake being folk. He does what he does and does it very well. Is it rock? Prog rock? I'm sticking with Party Rock. Listen to it and your feet will want to move and you'll feel good.

Next break I got up and talked to Beth. I mean I hadn't seen her since Saturday. That's far too long.. Have I mentioned that I like having friends

Next up was Rachel. I've only seen her a few times but loved her every time. She entred my world via Ana�s Mitchell. They did an album together and I've seen her in Ana�s 's band.

She gave me some street cred. Her world doesn't intersect most of the rest of my musical world and most people there didn't know her. And of course she impressed. Rachel knows how to write a song .She knows how to play. She is utterly charming on stage. And she know how to wear bright red pants

I got another great pic of her being interviewed. Never saw John do this before.

Her backup band was the amazing Cuddle Magic. I have seen Alec Spiegelman do shows with Kristin Andreassen. He is a hell of a songwriter and he plays bass clarinet. As Fred said, "who else even has a bass clarinet?"

It was a brilliantly put together show. No two of the acts was at all alike. One of the best On Your Radars .

But the evening wasn't over by a long shot. After talking to Honor, Fred, Kathryn, and I went over to Stage 3 to see Jean Rohe. I hope you all know how much I love Jean. There's nobody like her. I can't compare her with anyone and get close to the reality She can write complex songs for a 9 piece band in three languages but somehow they feel as simple as a Shaker hymn. A lot of that is her voice. She sings like a nature spirit. Now I have to grab my copy of LOTR and find a quote. This is Frodo on hearing Goldberry the wife of Tom Bombadil.

He stood as he had at time stood enchanted by fair elven-voices; but the spell that was now laid upon him was different; less keen and lofty was the delight, but deeper and nearer to the human heart; marvelous and yet not strange.
She didn't have the huge band with her, it was Liam on piano and accordion, a bassist, and a percussionist. I should probably know their names Nah, I can't remember anything.


Jean



Liam


Jean

Jean is going to be in the Emerging Artist Showcase at Falcon Ridge. She's also goig to play the Budgiedome.

After the show I headed home. Notice I never mentioned dinner or any food. I'm still recovering from the Crohn's. After midnight I had peanut butter. That�s' what I could handle. Now I'm going to make breakfast. It's very sad as I'd like to make bacon and eggs but I have no bacon. I'll have poached eggs and Taylor ham on an English Muffin instead.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 09, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!