I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 14, 2018 - 10:44 a.m.

Mardi Gras Radar

I did not get enough sleep but I'm going to write instead of going back to bed or having coffee. That's how much I love My Gentle Readers. I wrote that and immediately started to do something else. That was important, I'm creating an Instagram account for First Acoustics. We have a show to promote tomorrow, Carolann Solebello, so we need it today. I went to create it and discovered that I can't as I'm not an administrator of the Facebook Page. I thought I was, but it turns out that I'm an editor. I just sent Coco a request to be made an admin. You can make me feel less guilty about not doing this yesterday by going to the First Acoustics Website and buying a ticket.

Yesterday was the second Tuesday of the month, that means John Platt's On Your Radar. I always try and get there before doors open so I can make sure the front row is reserved, see how everything is going, and schmooze. I got a late start from home and had to take one bus later than I planned. That one gets me there right before doors. I headed downstairs and discovered that the tables were not reserved. I didn't have a pad on me to make reserved signs. I had to physically beat people off to keep them unoccupied till John and Richard arrived. I wear many hats in the folk world, social media promoter, merch guy, roadie, road manager, booker, booking advisor, networker, and of course blogger. My very favorite is enforcer. I did such a good job, I even had the bodies dragged away before the show started.

Fred couldn't make it, so I was joined at my table by Coco and Bruce. They are stalking me, I saw them Sunday and I'm seeing them again tomorrow. As Sunday and tomorrow are at their house perhaps it's more appropriate to say that I stalk them. I saved the table behind me for Perry and Beth. I'm seeing them again on Saturday and maybe tomorrow. There's a lot of stalking going on. Who else was there? John's wife Sheila, Marty, Ellen, Hesch, and Brad.

There was an idiot story on the way there, a double one. I timed the next bus perfectly, so I wouldn't have to wait but even on the one and a half block walk to the bus stop I noticed my legs were cold; I had forgotten to put on my long underwear. It wasn't terrible, most of my life I only wore long underwear when it was extremely cold but now I'm spoiled. When I got off the bus to head to the subway I put my gloves on or attempted to. I only had the right glove. The left must have fallen out of my pocket on the bus, which was pulling out as I discovered the loss. I hate being cold, so I ordered another pair on Amazon on the ride down. I can get them far cheaper online than I can in stores. I'm trying something new, ones that work with touch screens. I hope they are warm enough and work well, for the same price I could have had a beautiful pair of leather driving gloves with a thinsulate lining. The ones I got are leather too, but the lining is wool. There's another idiot story coming. Make sure you read to the end.

John's guests for On Your Radar were Janie Barnett & BlueRoomSongs, Robinson Treacher, and Austin and Elliott. I knew Janie and Robinson, but not Austin or Elliott. I didn't realize Janie would have a band with her, it was a big band too. The show had a broad musical palette, Austin and Elliott and straight out folk, you can tell because people die in their songs. Robinson plays soulful Americana, and Janie's big band plays, what? Americana? Sounds good.

It was a broad palette but nothing appropriate for Mardi Gras. John mentioned that at the end and Janie's pianist started playing something with a Nawlins sound. He broke out into song after John made the final announcements. The first On Your Radar with a post-announcement encore.

I wanted to home fast but there was a long line for the bathroom. Then I made my usual stop for 99¢ pizza. I was lucky and made the very last local train stopping at Astor Place. They are doing repairs on the local tracks. All looked well and good till I got near the last stop, my bus was coming, and the train stopped moving because of traffic ahead. The train pulled into the station as the bus pulled out. That meant I had the full half an hour wait.

When I got home I walked up to my room and what did I find on the top stair? My missing glove. I hadn't dropped it on the bus but at home. I should have canceled my order but that's the kind of thing that triggers anxiety. The new gloves are cheap and work with touch screens, so I'll try them out. That's the last idiot story.

Tonight, I'm off to see Rachael and Vilray at the House of Love. That's a good place to spend Valentine's Day. Too bad I don't have a Valentine. It's a good day to be on anti-depressants and to use the Jedi Mind Tricks I learned in therapy.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 14, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!