I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 10, 2016 - 7:54 a.m.

Radar Love

It took me way longer to start writing this than I planned so this will be short. I'm writing on Tuesday night but I don't plan on posting it till Wednesday morning. This short entry is about a very long day. I volunteered at WFUV for ten and a half hours then went to John Platt's On Your Radar, then hung out talking to the gang before heading home.

So my day started at 4:13 AM which it always does when I do a 6 AM shift. I then catch the 4:39 train. I decided to be frugal and not take MetroNorth, I knew that meant I would get to the station late. I took even longer than planned and did not get there till almost 6:30. I of course felt very guilty. My moral justification was that when I lived in Oakland Gardens and had a car I'd get up at 5:10 and be able to get to the station at 5:50. So I am not giving more of my time each drive but more of it is spent getting there.

There were so work around we had to do to incorporate both taking pledges and letting callers do the "Essential Artists" poll. That meant I had to do some work supervising including finding a way of doing the work around and training everyone as they came in.

So who was there today? Bev, Fred, Jim, Gayle, Mike, Ellen, Kerri, Patty, Lori not LORi, Rona, Bob, and OK that's pretty good off the top of my head.

The most important thing is that Mike made tiramisu and death by chocolate. OK and it was Jim and Sarah's Birthday. Sarah works at the station.

I had hoped that John Platt would be able to drive me to Rockwood Music Hall for On Your Radar but he didn't come in today so I walked to the to the . It took an hour and eight minutes and I got there at 6:16, just about when I planned. Yes, I'm totally anal about these things. That gave me time to grab my seat, say hello to Joe from Villa Palagonia, and go to the bathroom. When I went back down there was only one person waiting to go in even though doors were at 6:30. I was a bit worried. I expected a good crown for On Your Radar with Villa Palagonia, Sonya Heller, Jay Hitt. John and I both thought there's be a good turnout. There was, they were just late arriving. I'll have to find out from John how many people were there. I'll ask tomorrow.

I'm going to give a very brief write up of the show as I have to go to sleep soon. It's already two minutes later than I planned.

Jay was up first. He won over the crowd quickly with his first song that fit the subject matter but not the style of Don White; men spend their lives carrying things for women who ply them with food and praise. It starts with parents and ends with daughters.

Sonya Heller was pretty much a neighbor of mine growing up. I know exactly where her house was. We did Northeast Queens bonding. She has a beautiful voice. She was joined by David Patterson on guitar. David used to play with Deni Bonet. It's a small world.

Just search Wise Madness for "Villa Palagonia" here's a search tip, just search for Palagonia. You won't find it without the Villa. I have seen them, let me count, 1.7 zillion times. They are clearly one of my essential artists and two of my best friends. Odd construction there. VP is Allison Scola and Joe Ravo. Tonight they also had a bass player and drummer. I have rhapsodized over them many times, read one, and treat it as if it were the first time you read it.

VP is very much in my social circle so I had lots of friends at the show. I sat with Richard and Viki. Hesch was the one person on line early. They are almost always at OYR. Then there was Amy and Amy, sitting right near me. The special plural of Amy is Amia. The Amia are both Chicks with Dip as is Allison, one of the Allisoni. Yes, I am deranged, get past that. Honor, Sharon, and Jenai sat together and I talked to them before the show. After the show I hung out with Aviv, Jay, Catherine, Honor Sharon, and of course Allison and Joe.

As I headed out somebody asked me who I worked for; he had seen me taking pictures. I told him that it was for my blog. I of course don't have time to edit the pics and post them tonight. I will get them up, probably on Saturday and I'll link to them here.

Tomorrow I'm volunteering about seven and a half hours at WFUV, depends what time I get there, then going to see, The Sea the Sea (you know I love saying that) and then Kat Quinn. Yes, I am insane. If I can resist hanging out after Kat, I won't get home any later than I did tonight.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 10, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!