I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 04, 2012 - 9:35 a.m.

Storage Wars!

I should be in bed now but I want to start writing this first. I'll try and finish it tomorrow morning. I'm still not in a routine with my offline blogging. I had a busy day today so I'll try and stick to the facts and keep things short.

Today I liberated things from storage. I could not do this by myself. It took a crew. I recruited Lori not LORi and Joe. This is a to be rough as they worked hard and did so much for me but I cannot of course publicly say that Lori isn't mean. Joe is a saint and perhaps his aura of holiness penetrated Lori's evil. More likely he has blackmailed her. She certainly must have enough skeletons in her closet to make her vulnerable. Joe is so good that he won't tell me what he has on her. I think it has something to do with credit default swaps and the collapse of the economy.

Last you heard I was in MacDonald's posting yesterday's Wise Madness. That took longer than I thought and I did not have much time left afterward to make my train to Queens Village where Joe and Lori were picking me up. I made it of course with a few minutes to spare. I went to MacDonald's because it was right at the train station and they have WiFi.

When we got to the storage place I bought the tape gun I needed to reseal boxes, found my unit, and started attacking the boxes. The moving men did not do what they were supposed to do, make it easy for me to get to the boxes that had the lose trash bags that all my stuff had been put into by the woman that bought my apartment. We had to fight to get things out and there were some we could not get to. It was a lot like one of the storage reality TV shows. Why are there storage reality TV shows? And actually I don't know if it's like them as I won't watch them. It was something of a treasure hunt. I found enough clothes for the summer though I'd like a few more of my super cool summer shirts. I found my sandals which are vital. I won't wear shoes again till school starts. I did not find the treasures I was looking for.

  • My Camera
  • The Cable TV Remote Controls
  • The charger for my phone
  • My overdue library books
  • The box with my birth certificate and other vital papers.

What's worse is I found the box my father's gold watch was in but the watch wasn't it. I'm afraid it was stolen, perhaps my camera too. The box was in my valuables box along with my father's medals and such. She had absolutely no business opening it. She took advantage of me when I was in a vulnerable condition. In a just world he Furies would punish her. I might just have to hire goons. Carey knows where we can get one. She needs a goon too. We can get the bulk discount.

We managed to stuff everything into Joe's car and drove back to Brooklyn. We got good parking and managed to get everything up the apartment in one trip. We then went for dinner. Lori loves barbecue so we went to the place I ate the first night. This time I had the chicken. It was even better than the brisket. Lori had the pulled pork and Joe the hot sausage so now I know that everything is good there but the service. Joe didn't get his tea till after we were done (they didn't charge for it) and his bun was toasted even though he told them not to.

After eating I have them the five cent tour of the neighborhood. I am of course discovering it myself. I love it. It's the best area I've lived in. It's vibrant. There is so much going on. It's filled with life. My apartment is small and needs work but the neighborhood makes it worth it.

After they left I rested for a while then went out in search of the internet. Marjorie told me that Connecticut Muffin had WiFi and I checked them out. Is legal for a man to marry a cupcake? I'm pretty much ready to commit myself to their blackout cupcakes. I then spent two hours online checking my facebook,email, and NY Times but more importantly playing with Carey on Turntable FM. I'm not online now so I can't show you what we played but the penultimate one is what has become "our song'" TTYLXOX by Bella Thorne. You haven't lived till you've seen the video. Watch the one with the mashup with Zendaya's song. Keep in mind ironic detachment. We haven't lost it. Well OK we have. Our song used to be 1952 Vincent Black Lightning.

I expected to be depressed today. I got depressed after ever major step in regaining my life since disaster struck. Today it didn't happen. I had major disappointments and took them in stride. Why? I think it's because I spent the day with friends. I'm mad that my father's watch was stolen but not despondent over it. Mad is a lot easier on the soul. My spirits are excellent today. I'm even enjoying the scrounging for internet access. It's a challenge, a game.

Tomorrow I'm going to therapy in the morning then I'll start sorting through the stuff I took out of storage. Lots of the clothes is going to need to be cleaned. I need to set up my desktop computer before the cable guy comes on Tuesday. I could use a computer desk. Think they have a cheap one at Target? How about Best Buy? I should also stop at Trader Joe's and pick up a few things. That's still a lot for me to do in one day. I'm not sure I'll be able to. I'm a lot better than I was. I'm functioning. That doesn't mean I'm totally free from issues.

I wrote this fairly quickly and finished before I went to bed but now I won't get eight hours of sleep. I want to get up early enough to eat breakfast and go online and post this. I'd hate to do McDonald's again but I might have to.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 04, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!