I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 16, 2013 - 10:12 a.m.

The Road Goes On Forever

Not bad it's 9:16 AM only 16 minutes later than I like to start writing.

I had to leave Bag End yesterday and had no place to go. I've been frozen for days unable to look. I posted a plea on Facebook to no avail. I went to therapy and of course had plenty to talk about. Amazingly she found positives in actions. I knew she would. If I am not huddled in a ball she thinks of it as positive.

After therapy I went to my PO Box. I got mail. My coupon good for a free drink for my birthday at Dunkin' Donuts. I know that's what you really wanted to hear about. Then I went to my office and after several attempts finally was able to got Craig's List and look. I know there are always temporary places available. There weren't on the first few pages. Then I found one that looked good. All I wanted was AC and by a subway. I called and the number came up with a name. It was Monna. It was the rooming house where the cupboard under the stairs is. I was actually happy as this was not the cupboard and it had AC. I love Monna, she's great and I feel comfortable dealing with her. I don't love the neighborhood, Eastern Crown Heights but it's a short subway ride into Fort Greene and not that long into the City. I called her up and was disappointed she didn't remember me. But I finally jogged her memory and that was important. Someone else had emailed her about the apartment but I got precedence. So I made my way back to Bag End to get my bags. I can get everyplace fairly easily from this place except Bag End. I ended up taking a cab. As I had luggage that was easier.

The room is very nice and Monna is very nice. The only problem is that the AC doesn't work very well. I'm going to see if something can be done about that today. The best part is that I have a private bathroom! Last time I was here I got in fights with the bathroom Nazi! As soon as I went in she started telling me to get out. Even at 2 AM. there is also a kitchen. I'll do some shopping today so I can at least make breakfast here. I'll buy eggs, Taylor Ham, bacon, OJ, and Milk. I have to figure out how to make cold brewed coffee as it's too hot for hot coffee. That means buying coffee too.

I started watching Amelie last night. It was too late for me to watch the whole thing. I'm halfway through now. Carey had told me about it ages ago. When I asked what it was about she said it was "like spending a day with you." Having seen half the film I think that's just about the nicest thing anyone ever said about me. If you have seen the film and haven't spent a day with me you probably want to now. I'll write more about it when I watched the whole thing.

Tonight is the WfUV volunteer party. Unfortunately it's also my Fantasy Baseball League's All-Star game party. I hate missing that. Of course if things hadn't gotten weird with Alan I'd probably be at the game. I would have loved that. I miss Alan and I miss baseball,

But the party is always good. I won't have my white suit but I'll do the best I can. It's going to be hot and sticky. I'm not looking forward to that but I am looking forward to seeing everyone. I'm not taking pictures but I'm sure people take some of me. They always do.

I remember feeling bad that I had pics of all my friends up but hardly anyone posted pics of me. I can't say that anymore. There are hundreds of pics of me on Facebook now. Here's the latest one posted by Katherine.


That isn't on the Cyclone. That's a car you can sit it to see how it feels. It's a tight fit. It was tight with me and Katherine who is down to the trim. How did I use to go on with friends when I was far heavier and they were shall we say wider than Katherine. I think the laws of physics were different then. The cars aren't.

I better go out and grab some breakfast. Unfortunately the only really close place is McDonalds. I could walk to Kingston and the Hassidic area where there are good bagels but I can't get sausage and it's further than I feel like walking now and I'd feel obliged to get actually dressed instead of just throwing on a shirt to go with the shorts I sleep in.

It isn't fun that I can't shower, I left my shower stuff at Bag End and have to go back for it today. I also need to get a towel.

I'm not happy about my situation but I'm not in a crisis. Always look at the bright side of life,



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 16, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!