I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 23, 2017 - 11:07 a.m.

Omega Thoughts

I spent an inordinate amount of time out yesterday for a day that I didn't do anything. I went to my PO box and had two mailings from arts organizations that I didn't read. Then I headed up to Aldi to grocery shop. Then to Home Depot to buy instruments of fly death. After I picked them up I saw the checkout lines were enormous so I didn't buy them. Then I headed home. That was my exciting day. I didn't even buy anything exciting. No, that's wrong. I forgot a stop, Whole Foods to get garlic salt and self-grind chocolate peanut butter. I only bought a little of the latter and ate it as a snack. I'm addicted to garlic salt; thank you Emily the pusher. You know how they suck you in; she gave me some for free and now I have to buy it to maintain my habit.

The Whole Foods is in the Time Warner Building right by my post office. I saw a crowd of people dressed in all white. I'd have been perplexed but the WFUV Question of the Day was in the Diner en Blanc. Once a year there's a dinner in a secret location where the attendees dress in white. It must have been in Central Park. The people were carrying their own chairs and I saw them at other subway stations on the 1 train on the way to Aldi. I should have worn my white suit and joined them.

I did have an exciting dinner, Buffalo chicken wings. I made it less hot than usual, that meant less Frank's RedHot Sauce and more olive oil. I'm afraid ego is the reason I often make it too hot, like eating hot food shows how "manly" I am. I could be overanalyzing and I just usually misjudge. I'm up to at least fourth thoughts now. Second thoughts are thinking about your thoughts. Third thoughts are thinking about your second thoughts. That recursive definition holds as many times as necessary. Terry Pratchett came up with the terminology for something I've always done and been aware of. That's one reason I loved him. I should come up with the theory of transfinite ordinal thoughts. That would be an ω thoughts. Do any of My Gentle Readers get that? I don't get many opportunities to make set theoretic math jokes. I am away I just spent several sentences making a joke that nobody else might get. That's an ω+1 thought. It feels good getting my geek out like that.

I don't feel like writing about politics so I looked at my list of diary ideas, they are almost all about politics. That's a bad sign, it means that things aren't going well. I'm pretty sure you all noticed that.

I'm going to do something bold. I'm not going to search for something significant to say. I have significant things to say but don't want to address them today. I'll just let the class out early and make my bacon and eggs.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 23, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!