I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 31, 2015 - 12:51 p.m.

Magic Cuddling

Wow I slept late today. I might have slept more than eight hours. I so rarely do that. I'm not sure what time I went to sleep. I tried going at a reasonable hour but I've been having trouble going to sleep when I want too. My vision's off today too I can see well enough to write this but it's uncomfortable.

I felt like yesterday but then have nothing to write about till the evening. Know why? I updated late yesterday afternoon. What you didn’t read that? Go read it now, Every Little Thing Gonna Be All Right. It is important to never miss an episode of Wise Madness to fully understand the story arc.

Last night I went to House of Love Concerts to see Cuddle Magic. So know how I always complain how hard it is to get to the House of Love? I'm nuts. It's not hard it's a fifteen minute subway ride followed by a 15 minute or less bus ride. The entire problem is that I have to wait for the bus. I got there in maybe 45 minutes. The reason it seems like it's a hard trip is that it's in Brooklyn so I feel it should take less time than getting to Manhattan. If I didn't have the app to tell me when the bus was coming going home would not be fun as the buses don't run often that late. So no more bitchin' about how long it takes me to get there. I go there often so it isn't that big a deal.

What is a big deal is Amy's taste in music. Not only do I love the musicians she books but they are disjoint from the other house concerts I go to. Perhaps that why the only people I ever know in the audience are musicians. None of my other listener friends attend. That shouldn't be.

Cuddle Magic is not the usual House of Love fare. I don't think they are the usual fare anyplace. If they are, that's a place I want to be. They play neuromusic but Carey disagrees. In this case Carey is wrong. They create their own aesthetic as they go along. That's neuromusic. Though they aren't like anyone else I know they are in the circles I know. The only other time I saw them they opened for Anaïs Mitchell. I have seen Alex Spiegelman the bass clarinet player; hey it's neuromusic you expect things like bass clarinet players, many times. He often backs up Kristin Andreassen and I've seen him solo. So who did I know in the audience? Well just Kristin and Stephanie Coleman, she plays fiddle. See musicians. During the show I saw Jefferson but I did not see him before or after the music. I think he just materialized. Jefferson did an album with Anaïs. It is a small world He's also played at the House of Love.

For reasons I could never figure out I usually don't socialize much at shows there. That's not like me as I usually strike up conversations with strangers at house concerts. This time I did. I had a lot of fun talking to people. One was with Dave, the Cuddle Magic drummer. I didn't know he was the drummer when we started talking. I proposed to somebody. She brought this really incredible bread and prosciutto. I was singing its praises and the guy I sang them to said, "We brought it." I was about to propose to him and the woman he was in. Monogamy is well and good but when the food is good enough I am open to changing my sexual orientation so why not that too? But he then added, "I should say that she brought it." So I proposed to his wife? Girlfriend? Friend? What matter? I'd have married her if she said yes. She didn't. That's what usually happens. OK always.

I had another good food centered conversation? Was it with the same guy? I think so. We discussed the chicken cartel and the restrictions they place on chicken farmers. I also had a nice talk with Alec. He was a physics major that started as a double major in math! I knew he was my people. He'd be my people without that.

It's late so once again I won't post pictures here. So I'll have to tell you a bit about the band. There was a keyboard, standup bass, guitar, trumpet, and drum kit. The trumpet player played other things that I couldn't see. He had a drum or maybe a drum synthesizer and I think another keyboard. Three of them sang in different combinations.

What makes them great is that they are unpredictable. The harmonies and instrumentation take you by surprise. On one song the time signature seemed strange, I was thinking 5/8 but it wasn't. It just had unusual rhythms. Your mind is continually expanded. Oh and I have to love a band that has a singalong that went something along the lines of "We don't want you to sing along with this song."

After the show I timed the bus well, I waited less than five minutes, and had good luck with the subway too. Everything went well. Oh and I can see now too. I just noticed that.

OK I'm off to make breakfast. I have one slice of scrapple left so I think I'll make bacon, scrapple, and eggs. So yes I'll be cooking scrapple in bacon fat. I'm going to hell. Good thing they found out that's not bad for you or I'd be going there fast. Shh I know they still say that processed meat is bad, just not meat. I am conveniently ignoring that.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 31, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!