I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 06, 2014 - 11:18 a.m.

New York New York the Musical

I just updated last night, what can I possibly have to write about this morning? Hey it's me, I always have something up my sleeve. Sure it's just my arm but what do you think the fingers I type with are attached to?

I had a project the last 8 days. I tried to photograph every musical instrument I saw not at a venue that I saw on the streets and subways of New York. Now I couldn't succeed. Too many were people walking on the street in the opposite direction and I did not have time to get their pics. Most are in the subway and the lighting isn't great and some came out terrible. I'm posting them anyway because the point is that one of the things I love about the City is just how surrounded by music I am. I think this was a slow week. It might be because I didn't go out several days. but here's the record of what I saw.


Drummer at Columbus Circle

The one instrument I don't like on the subway is he drums. No matter how good the musician it's just too loud and too hard to get away from. There are a few that can manage to keep the volume manageable and they are fine. I love music on the subway but it shouldn�t be intrusive and forced on you.

I didn't just photograph people playing. They can just be carrying their instrument. It still makes me happy when I see that.

Sure there are drums but this ensemble was great. That guy in front is tap dancing and it wasn't too loud.


Tap Dance at West 4th Street


classical violin and keyboard


Violin at Atlantic Terminal



This guy got on the train, crouched down, and started to play the cello right in front of me.


Kora at Union Square


The Only Siunger/songwriter I saw. I wish this pic had come out better. Don�t know why it didn't.


Trad music in Central Park. What is the guy on the right playing?


Great classical music and singing by the Bethesda Fountain

Dancing to their music


What is this guy playing?

I am going to have to do this again. New York is Music City.

When I got home last night I watched Jerry Maguire. Can you believe I never saw it? It took me only 18 years to catch up. It is an iconic film if not a great one. It certainly gets referenced again. All I knew was that it was about a sports agent, starred Tom Cruise, and had the lines, "Give me the Money" and "You had me at hello."

How many times did Tom Cruise play the slick guy that's all surface that discovers inner depth. It started early with Risky Business. He can probably play these roles in his sleep. I have no trouble enjoying his films even though I don't like him as a person. The art and the artist are separate. I enjoy Mel Gibson too. I have no trouble enjoying Moxy Fr�vous even with what's going on with Jian.

Jerry Maguire is a total audience picture. It has the audience rooting for the characters and it delivers with them winning. It's easy to be cynical and dismiss the film as fluff because well it is fluff. But it is entertaining fluff that avoided sinking into bathos.

I'll be a bit confessional. I want a "You had me at 'hello.'" moment. My life never goes that way. I never get the girl. When I got the nerve to do something like that it led to me losing one of the most special people I had in my life.

This might look like a short edition of Wise Madness at under 700 words but a picture is worth 10,000 words so it's actually one of the longest. You're a speed reader.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 06, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!