I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 24, 2016 - 10:37 p.m.

Attempt at Normalcy

I have to get into my new blogging schedule. I should write as soon as I get back from program but I have to get used to that. I'll just leave it as I'll blog some time between getting home and going to sleep. That means tomorrow I might not have time to blog as I have to head down to my old room in Brooklyn so my old landlady can sign a form I need. The timing is going to be awkward. I can't be there till 8. I'll probably catch the 3:21 train from Harrison into Grand Central Station. That means I'll have about three hours to kill. It will be hot so I won't want to spend it outdoors. Perhaps I'll have a nice dinner somewhere. Any other suggestions of what to do in Manhattan or Brooklyn given that I have to be in Crown Heights at 8:00.

I need to come up with a cool fantasy name for the people I'm saying with now. Have I already done so and forgotten? Oh wait, let's me say this first. Notice this isn't a doom and gloom edition of Wise Madness. Not this is going to be a silly inconsequential edition complete with commuting! I know you all missed that. I didn't tell you the ridiculous thing that happened yesterday. As I explained the route home is a bit Byzantine but that's sort of fun; at least if you know what you are doing. I had planned it all out and had it on my phone. The problem is that the website that gave the route 511ny.org won't load on my phone, at least when I'm not on Wi-Fi. Now I knew how to go but not everything. I was prepared enough that I had the route number of the busses written down just in case something like that happened. I knew I needed the 45 bus in New Rochelle. While there are small signs saying what busses stop at each lane in the depot there's nothing that can be read from a distance. You have to go up to each one and read it. So I had to figure out where my bus was. It came while I was looking. I went to it and realized I didn't know where I switched to the City Island Bus and wasn't certain of the number. So I got to the door and looked up the bus number so I could ask the bus driver. I was right at the door and he could see me looking something up and he closed the door on me. I knocked and he let me in. He could have simply asked if I were getting on. I got on and asked, "Where do I switch to the Bx29? He dismissively said, "Is that a City bus? I don't know." Luckily the woman I sat next to knew it was the last stop. I'm sure he's supposed to know the transfer points. To make it worse when I got home and checked I saw there is an earlier transfer point. I went quite a bit out of the way. Not sure if that slowed me down at all as the Bx29 does not run that frequently. Still the driver's attitude bothered me.

Today I didn't have to stop at the pharmacy so I was able to catch the bus to the Harrison train station instead of walking for half an hour. That meant catching an earlier train. Unfortunately, there was track work being done which caused small delays. That meant I missed my bus by minutes and had to wait half an hour for the next one. Westchester is not civilization. I did get home a little earlier than yesterday. I could have cut half an hour off the trip with a little luck.

I can't make this all a silly pointless edition of Wise Madness because I'm too grateful to people to leave them unacknowledged. I know I acknowledged them yesterday but people are still finding out what's going on and still being wonderful. I can't write everyone who is helping but appreciate everyone.

I'm back hours after that last paragraph; why? I watched the Met game! They lost of course because I'm a curse but I saw the game and that's special. I got to see what's up with Harvey instead of just reading about it. I got to see Cespedes make a great play. I got to see baseball and even a bad game is better than none.

I also got some validation for my writing, something that someone said and did. Wise Madness is one of the things I still have. It's something I'm still good at. At least I hope I'm still good at it. Hey I like some of the jokes and that's what really matters.

I'm not going to attempt to write about politics outside myself yet. Game of Thrones?. Nope got nothing. I'm not going to force it. It's one thing at a time. If I can write every day I'm accomplishing something. Of course I'm probably not writing tomorrow as I have my expedition to Brooklyn. I thought of bringing my computer and writing during the commute but that's too hard and it's heavy to lug around all day.

Oh, just realized I have not made this a typical Wise Madness entry. Can you see what's missing? No mention of food. So let me see. There isn't much exciting in my food life. That's the problem. Well I did have a double portion of hot dogs at lunch as another patient didn't want his. That was exciting at the time. Tomorrow I'm going into the City and I promise to eat something interesting so I can write about it.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 24, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!