I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2003-01-11 - 11:29 a.m.

Waiting for the Garbage Truck

Last night I went to The Living Room to see Noam Weinstein and Heather Eatman. I've seen Noam a couple of times before, once at the Bottom Line Fast Folk Tribute and once on his own. I was disappointed the time I saw him by myself but wanted to give him another chance. I'm glad I did. Last time either he or I was having an off night. He's great. His voice reminds me of Ben Folds a similarity that became clearer when he switched to the piano. His voice is always sounds a bit strained, but it works. He's a clever songwriter with thoughtful lyrics whether he's being funny or serious. If you go to his site you can check out some mp3s. I really think that Carey would like him and asked him if he ever got to Chicago. He said he hadn't performed there yet but that his grandmother lived there, and he very well might in the future. He's going to email me if he does. He's also a nice guy who introduced himself to me before the show just because I was sitting up front. He scored extra points with me by being accompanied by his band featuring a DOBRO™ resonator guitar and a melodica on some of the songs.

I haven't seen Heather Eatman in years. I discovered her around the same time I discovered Ruth Gerson. In addition to being a great musician she has a cool day job, she lays out the front page of the Daily News. Which qualifies as a night job as I'm guessing she runs over there after her gigs. She's a hard singer/songwriter for me to describe. Perhaps a bit like Ani and a bit like Jill Sobule and Amy Rigby. You'll just have to check her out yourself. There isn't any good reason that I haven't seen her in so long, it just seems that I always have trouble making her shows. I'll have to make more of an effort to see her again. As she was about to start her set a garbage truck pulled up and started making lots of noise. She said, "We're waiting for the garbage truck." I thought that would be a good album name.

Last night I picked up a copy of Acoustic Live in New York City a folk music newsletter. In addition to the best article I've read on Christine Lavin it has comprehensive listings of shows in the tri-state area. You can read it all online; check it out. It reminded me of something that I want to eventually do; make an online guide of things to do in the area. It would not be comprehensive, it would all be things that I personally recommend, a Horvendile's eye view. I'm going to have to learn a lot more HTML before I set it up. I want to do a good job. I'm going to give a preview of what it would be like now. At least the music picks. Here is the list of shows on horizon that I personally recommend. If it is in bold then I intend on going to the show myself.

January

11 – Chris Smither/Jeffrey Foucault @ Towne Crier Café
11 – Church of Betty @ Pete's Candy Store
12 – Solas/Wayfaring Strangers @ The Bottom Line
12 – Deirdre Flint @ Randolph Township Public Library
13 – Richard Julian @ The Living Room
14 – Dana Kurtz @ The Living Room
16 – Jill Sobule @ Pete's Candy Store
17 – John Forster @ Minstrel Coffeehouse
18 – Patty Larkin/Professor & Maryanne @ Mainstage Coffeehouse
19 – Kate & Anna McGarrigle/Greg Brown/Lucy Kaplansky/Garnet Rogers @ Towne Crier Café
20 – Richard Julian @ The Living Room
21 – Dana Kurtz @ The Living Room
24 – Chris & Meredith Thompson @ Towne Crier Café
24 – Buskin & Batteau/ Christine Lavin @ The Bottom Line
25 – Buskin & Batteau/ Christine Lavin @ The Bottom Line
27 – Richard Julian @ The Living Room
28 – Hugh Pool @ Rodeo Bar
31 – Olu Dara/Madeleine Peyroux @ The Bottom Line
31 – Black 47 @ Bodles Opera House

February

1 – Cheryl Wheeler @ Emelin Theater
1 – Eddie From Ohio/Nerissa & Katrina Nields @ Paramount Center for the Arts
1 – Lucy Kaplansky/Terence Martin @ Hometown Music
7 – Cadence Carroll @ Beantown Gourmet
9 – Jian Ghomeshi/Terre & Maggie Roche @ Walkabout Clearwater Coffeehouse Sorry Acoustic Live gave last year's schedule for the Walkabout. Jian and the Roches are not playing this year.
14 – They Might Be Giants @ Joe's Pub
15 – Full Frontal Folk/We're About 9/Andy & Denise
18 – The Kennedys @ Watercolor Café
21 – Lisa Moscatiello/Gary Paul Hermus @ Minstrel Coffeehouse
21 – Woody Guthrie Tribute w Jimmy LaFave/Ellis Paul/Eliza Gilkyson/Slaid Cleaves @ Westport Arts Center
25 – Slaid Cleaves @ Bottom Line
28 – Eric Schwartz/CC Railroad @ Minstrel Coffeehouse


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2003-01-11
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!