I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 02, 2015 - 1:10 p.m.

Twin Bill!

I slept late this morning, after 10 AM so now I'm starting to write at the time I'm usually posting. Can I write fast? I'll try. I won't attempt to edit my pics or videos. I won't throw in any politics or religion. I won't write an introductory paragraph explaining what I'm going to do. Damn. Oh well.

I could almost end this right there. That's the writing that will make me happiest. But I did things worth writing about last night so I will go on.

Last night I went to Rockwood Music Hall for a musical double header, Caitlin Mahoney then Darlingside.

The was stuck in traffic so I got there a bit later than I wanted but still 12 minutes before show time .When I went in I was pleasantly surprised to find Rockwood 2, the big stage, packed to the gills. When did Caitlin become a rock star? My usual Statler and Waldorf seats were taken. There were no tables so I went right up front. Last time I tried that I couldn't hear well but there's a railing there I can hang my bag and put my hoodie on. I hate carrying things all show. And guess what. The sound was fine.

I have never seen Caitlin backed by such a big band before, piano, guitar, drummer, and cello. And of course backing vocals by Kat Quinn and Jo Kroger. Whenever I see at jokroger I read it as Joker Roger. Yes I know it's missing letters. I also think of Batman.

OK that is NOT the way to finish quickly.

With a full band Caitlin is not a folkie, she's a pop/rocker. Do I like pop/rock? Wrong question. The only thing that matters is do I like Caitlin's music and the answer is an emphatic yes. I hope nobody saw me dancing. There were cute women on stage, why should anyone be looking in the audience, right? Now as most of you aren't part of the throng at the show, I didn’t know anyone that wasn't singing, I should post a video. But It's really late now and that will have to wait. OK here's the problem I have nothing brilliant to say about Caitlin. I'm supposed to have insights? I was trying to come up with insights all show. I didn't get any insights. But, I was too busy enjoying myself to worry too much about not having an insight. Is that an insight? Did I mention this is her release show for her new CD Spin? I don't think I did. It doesn't seem to be available on her website yet .You'll have to see her in person to get it. Or I'm an idiot. You can never rule out that possibility.

Near the end Caitlin thanked Gordon. Now I know that one of the sound guys at Rockwood is Gordon. I've talked to Gordon. Hell his name is Gordon how could I not. But still when I hear my name I still react if just for a second. What was great is that Kat reacted. Now I was right in front of Kat and she was looking right at me. I was enjoying that she made me feel like I'm not an idiot as she thought it was me too.

After the show everyone went into the back room. It was packed as there were also people there form Rockwood 3. But still I got hugs from Caitlin, Jo, and Kat and that makes it worth standing in a crowd.

Then I went back to Rockwood 2 to see Darlingside. I love that I got to see them at the same venue. Darlingside totally won me over last year but I haven't seen them in ages. I have some insights on Darlingside. On one level I'm supposed to like them as they are conservatory trained musicians that play Americana music. They are conservatory trained right? They sound like they are. I don’t actually know that much about them. But I'm going with that they are. But they do close harmony, not the intricate vocal dances that I prefer. Their music is not weird or raucous. So why do I love them. Simple, they do what they do very well. That's an understatement. It's beautiful sweet music that has content and variety. So they are someone who can be loved by everyone, those that pay close attention and those that just want beautiful sounds. I want to pair them with Harpeth Rising. It’s a great pairing. They have similar skills but approach things differently. Then they can do a song together in 7-part harmony. You guys all reading this? How about my presenter friends? Make it so.

Darlingside was on a split bill with a band I had never seen called Bombadil! Yes as in Tom Bombadil, from Lord of the Rings I have written entire entries on Tom Bombadil. That and playing with Darlingside is enough to make me want to see them. But I didn't. I had not eaten since breakfast. Darlingside finished at 10:20. I had to get home and eat. I didn't even talk to the guys in the band.

I did a survey about Popeye's and got a coupon good for two pieces of chicken and a biscuit if I bought a large drink so I did that for dinner. It's not such a great deal as a large drink is expensive and way more than I need to drink. I took it home and fried up a plantain to go with it. I rarely do that but frying is the fastest way to cook and it was well after 11 when I got home.

If you've been reading this regularly you know that I've not been doing well. I haven't gone out in days. My physical health is fine it's financial problems and anxiety. I needed this. I was happy last night. Thanks guys.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 02, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!