I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 04, 2016 - 9:57 a.m.

Phone It In

I don't think I will have time to write this at one sitting so I will write when I can today. So yesterday I packed up my life, well except for the stuff I forgot in my bath, and Monna, my landlady and her husband drove me up to my friends' home in Ardsley. I collected more stuff than I realized. I used to make moves with suitcases and two or three backpacks. Now I added boxes, four of them. OK that was completed something like eight hours after the previous sentence. Now it's late. I am going to write a little bit then finish this tomorrow morning.

I need literary names for the friends I'm staying with. I had Elrond and Celebrian at the Last Homely House West of the Mountains and I stayed with Hagrid who rescued me from the cupboard under the stairs at Hogwarts. OK I got it I'm with Brynden aka The Three-eyed Raven, Leaf and the Children of the Forest. None of them has read or seen Game of Thrones so they won't get it. But it works on several levels.

I called Boost Mobile on Brynden's phone and told them what I had tried to fix the phone. They had to send me on to Samsung. I told them and I give the Tech guy a lot of credit. He didn't make me take the battery out or do the resets. He went right into things I hadn't tried. They didn't work. He told me that I need a reflash and that has to be done in-store. It's essentially reinstalling the operating system. After being misled about who we had to talk to at the store and waiting for the wrong guy we found the right guy at the Samsun center. He had to download the reflash then install it on my computer. It would take 45 minutes. So Brynden and I went to dinner at Bareburger. I thought had had eaten there before but I hadn't. Lot of exotic burgers. I had elk. I should try the duck next time. It was excellent. It had weird bacon in it. Not sure what kind. Yes it was a foo foo burger but where else am I going to get elk?

Then we got a text, on Brynden's phone from the Sean the guy at Best Buy. The reflash was complete and the phone was, "toast." So I went and bought the second cheapest phone they had, an LG. It works. I synched my Google Contacts so you can call me again.

To be continued tomorrow morning. I'm off to Westeros, a place where I'm better off than anyone.

I'm back. So many things I have to figure out on the new phone. For instance, it shows all my contacts not just the ones with phone numbers. I personalize everything, alarms, the backgrounds, the lock screen, and the things I can't remember now. I have to download apps. I woke up on my own this morning but I forgot to set the alarm because I'm used to that being done automatically.

I realize I haven't finished personalizing this computer. There are no stickers on it. That's because I never thought this would be my permanent computer. With the move I don't even know where my stickers are now. I might need all new ones. It's not that the stickers are that important, it's about making it mine.

Now I'm working on getting help, finally getting "in the system." Maybe I'll be able to get a life back even if it isn't quite my life.

I missed the WFUV volunteer/seniors party. That's always a highlight of my social calendar. I am not going to miss Falcon Ridge. I'll get the Budgiedome schedule put together. I'll have four days in the happiest place on earth.

Sam Gamgee had it right. "Where there's life there's hope, and need of vittles my Gaffer used to say." So I'll call this quits and eat.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 04, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!