I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 21, 2017 - 2:38 p.m.

Computer Ressurection

It's been nine days since I last updated. I didn't die; not even death would keep me from blogging. Fine, it would but you wouldn't hear if you said something about it. On Thursday night I tried rebooting my computer and I got the blue screen of death. On Friday I brought it to the geek squad at Best Buy and they said that the problem was that like the United States my computer had a corrupted operating system. They would reload windows and get it back to me on Tuesday. Come Tuesday I went to pick it up and found that the problem was the hard drive had gone the way of all flesh, it wouldn't even spin. They replaced it that day and I picked it up Tuesday night. The WFUV pledge drive started on Friday. I have been getting up as early as 4:30 AM and the only times I haven't were on days following nights where I was out late. I have had almost no time to write especially as with a new hard drive I had to customize the computer the way I like. I'm rewriting all my macros as I write this. Does anyone know how to save the normal template of Word to the cloud? I guess I could google it. It should be an easy option, then no matter where I'm writing I could have word set up the way I like. It's slowing me down to do it now.

Generally, I don't go to concerts during the drive as I'm getting up so early. This drive I did, three times. I have so much to write about, I'm going out tonight too. I'm going to write what I can today and catch up as addenda to other posts as I go along. At least you know where I stand with my computer. One last thing before I start in earnest. I have been sleep deprived all week. Last night I slept ten and a half hours. I didn't wake up till after 11 so I am getting a late start. I'm going out later, so I'm pressed for time.

Friday was the first day of the drive. I didn't prepare myself by waking up progressively earlier leading up to it. Luckily, I discovered the magic power of meditation. As I had no computer I didn't have the usual distractions on Thursday night. I had nothing to do. I went to sleep at 9:30 instead of my usual 1:30. I was worried about my broken computer; yet I was able to fall asleep. I wish I could go back in time and teach my insomniac younger self how meditation helps you sleep.

On Fridays I have therapy. The plan was to go straight from WFUV to therapy. That's easy as the MetroNorth stops right at Fordham University. Then I got a call from my therapist. She had a family emergency and had to cancel. I stayed a little later than I planned and then went home so I could take a nap. I had plans for Friday night. Carolann Solebello was playing at the Starving Artist Cafe just a few blocks from my house. I made dinner and walked over there. I was joined by Bernie and Jane. This is the ultimate home game, a short walk to the venue and the performer and the friends I saw the show with were all at my birthday party. Carolann had new songs, she has a new album coming out. Hey, she said the title would be announced on Monday. I didn't see it; it's been a tough time for me to keep up with things online. Carolann writes beautiful personal songs that reveal the beautiful person within; as that person is one of my favorite people it's a great combination. She has a beautiful voice but that has very little to do with how I feel about her music. She is getting progressively more progressive political as have so many of us. When things go bad we need to get more involved. We've marched together.

After the show I hung out for a while and walked her back to her car. That was in the opposite direction as my house and she drove me home. It's just an excuse to have some time to talk away from the crowd. Oh god. I meant to write just a few lines about this. This will take forever.

Saturday is my one day not volunteering. The station moved the shows I used to work to Sunday so now I skip Saturday and work 13 hours on Sunday. Saturday night I went to see Carolann's old band Red Molly at Irvington Town Hall. This was also a home game. I was an early adopted of the band. I am pretty sure that I've sold their merch more often than anyone. I have a permanent comp to their shows. The concert was produced by Common Ground Community Concerts run by Carter Smith. Carter's a good friend and I go to most of the shows he presents and when I do, I do the merch. It's not that easy to get to Irvington without a car but I had a plus one, it was Fred. He picked me up and drove me. I love when a plan comes together.

We had an excellent meal at the River City Grill, not that far from Town Hall. We went in and I checked on the merch and hung out. I was delighted and a bit surprised to see Coco and Bruce, they live in Brooklyn, a long way off. Red Molly has played at their venue, First Acoustics but I thought this was just too far afield. I have not seen them in months, thus the delight.

There were plenty of other people I knew there too. It's been too long and I'm not going to attempt to list them all. I'll move right on to the important thing, I have added a new job to my folk music resume, runway model. Red Molly has a new t-shirt for this mini-tour. I came wearing my 11-year-old shirt. I asked if I could take a new one to wear while doing merch. Laurie said, "yes" and that I should put it on now. During the first set they'd point me out to the crowd as that was better than holding up a shirt. I told them I'd do the catwalk and demonstrated. With a few songs to go they turned the house lights on and Laurie pointed me out. I stood up and turned around by my seat, I was just kidding about the catwalk. Laurie wasn't. She asked me to strut my stuff down the aisle. I have no shame, so I did. Off mic Laurie sang, "I'm too sexy for my shirt … " Next time I'm at NERFA I'm going to list myself as "folk swag model." We sold lots of t-shirts. I'm telling myself that it was because I did such a good job and that I was just the right sexy for my shirt.

Red Molly has been on hiatus for a few years. This tour was to introduce new solo albums by, Abbie, Laurie, and Molly. The music industry being what it is, they were not ready sell at the shows. People signed up for presales. They did have many new songs, that's always a highlight for me.

After the show I sold more merch then Fred and I hung out to talk to the band and other people still hanging out then he drove me home. I got back at midnight. I had to get up at 5:30. Sleep deprivation was a theme for the week.

I have so much more to write about including a concert by Uncle Bonsai. They hardly ever tour so I need to write more about them. I'll try and catch up more tomorrow. Now I'm off to see Eric Schwartz and Honor Finnegan at the Ethical Brew in Teaneck. I think must leave soon. I need to shop too. I don't have time for all these things. So, I'm going to just end this here.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 21, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!