I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 10, 2016 - 11:15 a.m.

I'm On the Road To NERFA (without Hope or Crosby)

I'm not going to write about the election or politics. I'm having enough trouble reading about them. I have no special knowledge so I'm not going to pontificate. I see too much of that going around. I'm going to follow Beethoven's lead.

LO friends! Not these sounds!
But let us strike up more pleasant sounds and more joyful!
Today I'm leaving the real world and entering NERFA. For four days, I'll be surrounded by music, musicians, and music lovers. I'm not going to say there will be no stress; I still carry my issues inside of me but I'll be able to put most of them on hold. Of course, that does mean I should pack. It's for only a few days so that won't take so long. I'll figure out what I'm taking with me. When I get back I'll give a full report.

I just don't see friends at NERFA I make friends there, especially Canadians. That's where I met Jory Nash, Shawna Caspi (though we knew each other online before then), and Laura & Graydon aka The Young Novelists. I met New Yorkers there too. Jean Rohe, Katherine, Karen, Jen, and Alan, of Bobtown, and the third person I had in mind when I started that sentence. I could make believe I was thinking of Nathan and Becky from Barnaby Bright who did live in Brooklyn when we met. Let me get systematic about this and go through my Facebook friends list. These are not all the acts I discovered at NERFA but the ones that became friends that I have socialized with outside of NERFA. In addition to the ones above there's:

  • Caitlin Candy
  • Char and Robby Rothschild from Round Mountain
  • Ariana and David Gillis
  • Elaine Romanelli
  • Jess Razzi
  • Jo Sorrell
  • Joe Pszonek
  • Harpeth Rising; Jordana, Maria, and Rebecca. I met Michelle at a show after she joined HR.
  • Kami Lyle
  • Kate Copeland
  • Burning Bridget Cleary; Rose, Genna, Peter, and Lou. I met Amy when she joined BBC
  • Robin Greenstein
  • Sorcha Cribben-Merrill
  • Susanna Rose
  • Susie Vinnick
  • Karen Hudson
  • The Boxcar Lilies: Steph Marshall and Jenny Goodspeed
That list is by no means complete. Those are just the ones that I remembered to add to my NERFA friends list on Facebook. Just noticed some were missing and added them to the list.

Now for my day. What did I do yesterday? Oh right, therapy. It wasn't just my usual talk therapy with Allison, though that was quite productive, there was plenty of food therapy. I didn't have the bacon and eggs I said I'd eat. My timing was too tight. I made sausageeggandcheese, the fastest breakfast I can make. I was in such a rush I had just a sip of my second cup of coffee. I raced out of the house and made the bus by only a minute. I had almost an hour between the bus dropping me off in New Rochelle and my train leaving so I went to Dunkin' Donuts and had a chocolate glaze donut. After therapy, I had over 20 minutes between the bus dropping me off and the train coming in Harrison and I went to Carvel's. It's buy one get one free sundae day so I had two peanut butter and hot fudge sundaes. Don't look at me, this was part of my PTSD (Post Trump Stress Disorder) therapy. Then for dinner I made a Shai-Hulud potato for the first time in ages. Those who don't realize their similarity to the giant sand worms of Arrakis, from Dune call them Hasselback potatoes. I don't cater my language to other people's ignorance of what should be cultural norms. I had a ham steak with that. Oh, and I put Cheeze-Whiz on the potatoes. That's part of my recipe. Hey I had clementines for dessert. See I can eat healthy. Technically my before bed snack was today, it was after midnight; I had S'mores pop tarts. You deal with Trump your way and I'll deal with him in mine.

OK, now to make breakfast, the bacon and eggs I planned on yesterday, then getting ready for NERFA. I won't write again till Monday. Sure, I theoretically could do it Monday night but I know I'll be too tired.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 10, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!